Overview
The Walter Havighurst Special Collections and University Archives is pleased to extend its instruction offerings to include online and hybrid instruction options. As a part of these flexible instruction options, we can:
- Create videos: these could be used for introducing students to Special Collections, University Archives, and/or Digital Collections, or we can pre-record lectures on collection items as a “show and tell” to demonstrate what an archive is and what primary sources are available for students
- Compile digital course packets: these packets would consist of digitized primary sources selected to fit the needs of your course; we can also digitize select items from the collections for your course packet
- Design activities: these might be self-guided activities that students can use to develop their primary source literacy skills through active learning, or might be ones meant to be facilitated by a librarian or faculty member
- Build a Canvas module: the module can include any combination of instructional pages, Credo Instruct content, custom videos, activities, and a graded quiz to ensure student participation. This module will be shared in Canvas Commons for easy inclusion in other sections of the same course or related courses
- Visit classes: a staff member can visit your classroom to facilitate synchronous discussion either in person or through a web conferencing platform on any topic relating to special collections, archives, digital collections, and/or primary sources
As with all instruction offered with special collections and archives, we work to create an informative, positive experience for students while working to develop their primary source literacy skills.
How it works
Any of these options can be combined to create an instruction session that works best for you. We can customize the options to work with your course and to meet the learning objectives that you choose for your session. If you would like multiple sessions, we will work with you to scaffold the assignments and skills to build and refine your students' primary source literacy skills.
If you have a hybrid class and would like an in person component to your class, we can create a hybrid session for you using these and our in-person instruction options.
Have a different idea of what you would for your instruction session that isn't listed above? We are happy to work with you to make those ideas a reality!
Contact us
To schedule an instruction session, please fill out our instruction request form for Special Collections and University Archives.
To help us provide the best possible experience for students, instructors should submit their request for online instruction two weeks in advance of the date for the session requested. Your options may be more limited if you do not contact us with at least two weeks notice.
Learn more
If you are interested in exploring our instruction options, but would like to see how it might work for your course before committing, please contact us at SpecColl@miamioh.edu. We are excited to discuss these options further with you and even create a sample lesson plan for you based on the needs of your course and desired learning objectives.
