Library Content for Online Courses Workshop: Journal Articles

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection.  An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item.  You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.

The best way to add articles from Miami's online journal holdings to your online course is to use the permalink. The URL from your browser's address bar will not work.

• Step 1: Click on "Permalink" on the articles item record page
• Step 2: Copy the resulting link and paste that into your course

Please note: Be sure that Miami users have full-text access to the item before assigning it to your students.

This is the proxy prefix for Miami University Libraries:

https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=

To create a link to a library-subscribed resource that is accessible both on and off campus, simply append the proxy prefix to the front of the resource link.

http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5951/mathteacher.108.5.0376

BECOMES

https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5951/mathteacher.108.5.0376

Do NOT put the prefix on the front of MUL re-direct URLs (http://www.lib.miamioh.edu/indexes/redirect/). Re-direct URLs automatically push the patron through the proxy without the prefix.