Health Studies: Home
Welcome!
This guide contains information about different resources and tools the Library provides for health studies students, faculty, and staff. Whether you are an experienced researcher or are new to the field, this guide should have useful information. The side navigation (top navigation if you're using a mobile device) will allow you to access different pages that cover additional resources and skills in more depth.
Best Bets
These databases are the best bets for finding information for your classes and assignments. If you can't find what you're looking for, don't hesitate to ask me for help.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Video tutorials
We have tutorials on a number of topics on YouTube. Here are some of the playlists that may be of interest to you.
- How to SearchSeveral videos on identifying keywords and using database search techniques.
- Library BasicsVideo tutorials on a variety of topics related to getting started with using the library. Includes info on finding full-text, finding books and ebooks, and requesting things we don't have access to.
- EBSCOhost DatabasesVideo playlist covering some in-depth info relevant to users of CINAHL and Health Source
