chat loading...

ENG 413: Grant and Proposal Writing: Grant Writing and Statistics

Grant Writing

GrantForward - GrantForward is a database of funding opportunity information for most disciplines. It provides a specialized search algorithm and is constantly updated with new and accurate funding opportunities. The adaptive search filters makes it quick and easy to find the perfect grant opportunities to start moving your research forward. This resource is provided by Miami's Office of Research and Innovation. More information about using it may be found on the Grant Support guide.

Grants.gov - "Grants.gov is designed to enable federal grant-making agencies to create funding opportunities and applicants to find and apply for these federal grants. The Grants.gov Online Help provides explanations and step-by-step instructions for both applicants and grantors to complete these processes."

Philanthropy News Digest - RFPs - "Philanthropy News Digest publishes Requests for Proposals (RFPs) and notices of awards as a free service for U.S.-based nonprofit and grantmaking organizations."

Grantsmanship Center - State Grant Resources - Click on any state in the map to find a list of the top giving foundations in that state. Click the "Top Giving Foundations" link to see the list of foundations, and then click the name of a foundation to go to its website.

The Ohio Grants Partnership - Provides information on resources for grant funds posted by State of Ohio agencies.

You can see a list of e-books with grant writing information that Miami has access to, or look at a few examples below:

Getting Research Funded Five Essential Rules for Early Career Researchers. Taylor & Francis, 2023.
Grant Writing. Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.
Developing a Winning Grant Proposal. Routledge, 2013.
Winning Grants Step by Step: The Complete Workbook for Planning, Developing, and Writing Successful Proposals Jossey-Bass, 2013.

Finding Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Data Planet This link opens in a new window
A tool for data download and visualization with social science data about U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 150 different government and non-government sources. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, and education. The data series are standardized allowing you to easily find, compare, visualize, and export. Included are Data Planet Foundations and the Woods & Poole business module.

Data.gov
Statistics & data collected from U.S. government in a searchable catalog.
Explore Census Data
Data from the U.S. Census

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore the built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users.
In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. This interactive website includes the entire US census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2012, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US), InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.

Grant Writing Tips

Introduction to Grant Writing
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab.
NIH Grant Writing Tips
The NIH "Prepare Your Application" section features advice on thinking through grant applications from aims to audience.
Candid
This website offers free training sessions and articles on grant proposal writing, fundraising, starting a nonprofit and more.

Last Updated: Oct 9, 2024 4:27 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/eng413mid
Print Page