ENG 413: Grant and Proposal Writing: Finding Articles
Databases to Match Your Topic
Depending on your topic, you may wish to look at articles from databases and publications that focus on your topic area. There are two ways to approach this: first, you can look at guides that have been developed on an academic area related to your topic, and choose databases from that guide to search for articles. Second, you can look at our Databases A to Z list and search through the listings for databases related to your topic.
- Subject & Course GuidesBrowse for guides alphabetically, by type (subject, course, or topic) or by librarian.
- Databases A to ZA comprehensive list of all of the databases that Miami subscribes to, which may be browsed by title or searched by subject area or keyword.
Articles & More - reaching a wider variety of publications
- Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
- Use limiters to narrow your results - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
- Use the "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA or MLA citation.
- To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record (not the browser URL).
Watch: Articles & More (Burke, 3:00 min., 2018) or Focusing Your Search in Articles & More (Burke, 2:17 min., 2020)
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarAcademic research articles and books, found through Google. Some will be freely accessible, and some will require a subscription.
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.