Art Studio & Communication Design: ART 252

Image Collections - Miami Libraries resources

ARTstor
Searchable repository of nearly 1 million digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts and design, and archaeology. For more information about using ARTstor at Miami, please see the ARTstor LibGuide

Oxford Art Online
Includes over 130,000 images and 45,000 articles

Shields Tradecard Collection
Collection of historical advertising trade cards in Miami's Special Collections and Archives.
Clyde N. Bowden Postcard Collection
Collection of historical postcards cards in Miami's Special Collections and Archives.

Public Domain / Creative Commons

Public Domain Image Resources
Wikipedia collected listing of public domain images (warning: not ALL of the content linked here are guaranteed to be in the public domain)
Getty Open Content Program
Open content (public domain) images from the Getty Museum and Research institute
The Public Domain Review
Collection of images, books, and media that are in the public domain. Can also search by time period.
US Department of Agriculture images
Over 2000 photo images from the USDA
NASA Images
Images from NASA. This page delineates the guidelines for usage, but for the most part, their images are not copyrighted
NOAA Images
You must credit NOAA, but for the most part these images are in the public domain
Flickr's The Commons
Collection of photographs from many participating institutions for which there is no copyright or no known copyright
British Library Flickr Commons
Millions of public domain images from the British Library
Creative Commons Search
Creative Commons website's search box. Searches across multiple search engines for images under a CC license
Multicolr Search Lab
Color-based search engine that searches across CC licensed photos on Flickr

Fair Use Considerations

1. PURPOSE & CHARACTER of use: Does it advance knowledge or arts? Is it transformative, or is it derivative?

2. NATURE OF THE WORK: Is it for commentary or criticism? Is it for research or teaching?

3. AMOUNT AND SUSTAINABILITY of the portion used in relationship to the whole

4. EFFECT OF USE UPON THE POTENTIAL MARKET for or value of the copyrighted work.

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2024 2:48 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/art-design
Print Page

Subjects: Art and Architecture, Graphic Design