Antiracist Resources: Research

Digging Deeper

Run searches in the databases below to dig deeper into specific antiracism topics you would like to explore. Contact the library at your campus if you need assistance finding additional information.

If you would like to find research by diverse authors, this guide from George Mason University has great information about oppression in academic scholarship and search strategies you can apply to diversify your references or works cited page.

Relevant Databases

Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index focused on content relating specifically to the relationship between races, specifically the social, political, and economic relations between races and ethnicities. Subjects covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Limited full-text.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides government and other reports, articles, books and more on law enforcement and criminal justice.
Content dates range from 1970 to the present. All documents covered are either written in English or have an English-language summary. To facilitate research, the databases also includes a subject-specific thesaurus.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential database for resources on criminal justice and criminology.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with full-text contains more than 300,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. This resource includes full-text for more than 200 magazines and journals, as well as full-text books and monographs.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States

A collection of primary resources such as historical newspaper articles, diaries, correspondence and more. The resources are arranged into 6 categories based of various time periods from 1790-2000.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.

Use the Find It! Button

Most databases do not have the actual journal articles housed on them, some databases, like Academic Search Complete will have some of them. Instead, they usually just contain information about the article. Some databases will allow you to search full-text only, but beware that you are not searching all the articles that we subscribe to.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.

Last Updated: Jun 13, 2023 2:05 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/antiracist-resources
Print Page