Welcome to your Research Guide
This research guide will help you find sources for the final group project on a topic in Appalachian Studies. You are required to find at least 10 sources, five of them have to be peer-reviewed. The databases below are the main way to find the required sources. It's a good idea to find more than the minimum number of sources. You might also want to look at the full Appalachian Studies research guide. If you need help, please contact me using the blue "Email Me' button below my picture. Good luck!
Research Databases for AMS 205 topics
Find Books - A lot of excellent research on Appalachia is published in books. You don't have to read an entire book! Browse the table of contents or check the index to find your topic.
The subject specific databases below can be cross-searched with others listed to increase your search results. After clicking on the database link below, go to "Choose Databases" at the top of the page and add in the others listed. Be sure to use the peer-reviewed limiter on the left side of the screen after searching!
Business
Business Source Complete, (add Business Abstracts with Full Text, Academic Search Complete)
Education
Education Research Complete, (add ERIC, Education Full Text)
Healthcare
Health Source: Nursing/Academic (Academic Search Complete, MEDLINE with Full text, CINAHL with Full Text)
Science & Environment
Environment Complete (add GreenFILE, Science Reference Source, Academic Search Complete )
Politics
Political Science Complete (add Academic Search Complete, Public Affairs Index)
Cryptics (Myths and Legends)
Academic Search Complete (Humanities International Complete, Humanities Full Text)
Presentation Tools
PowerPoint - Use the link at left to get the full Microsoft Office suite to download on your laptop. PowerPoint is also available on library computers on all campuses and in computer labs and classrooms.
Prezi - Presentation software that uses motion, zoom, and spatial relationships
Google Slides - Log in to your Miami email to use Google's slide presentation tool.
Your Librarian at Hamilton
205 Schwarm
Miami University Regionals (Hamilton)