WGS 301 (Hamilton): Finding Articles

**You will need to login using your MU ID and password when using these resources off campus**

• Gender Studies Database
• Women's Studies International
• Academic Search Complete
• SocINDEX
• APA Psycinfo
• LGBTQ+ Source
• Race Relations Abstracts
• AgeLine
• Atla Religion Database
• Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
• Communication and Mass Media Complete
• Film & Television Literature Index

You can search all or any combination of these databases together by clicking the title of one of them and then following the instructions below.

Please note: There are also databases covering many ethic groups that you can add in if your topic involves one of those groups. These include Slavic/Eastern European, Central and Eastern European, Jewish, Middle Eastern and Central Asian, African, Asian, and Caribbean.

Click the blue “Choose Databases” link above the text entry boxes at the top of the screen. Place a check in the box next to each of the databases you want to add on the popup window. Click OK at the top or bottom of the popup window.

After you click on a blue article title in your results list, you will be taken to a new page with more detailed information about that specific article. This includes an abstract, or summary, of the article. Reading the abstract is a quick way to determine whether the article answers your research question or not. If it does, you should look in the top left corner of the screen for a link that says "Full Text."

Clicking that link will give you the full contents of the article rather than only the summary available on the current page. When there is no "Full Text" link in that corner, use the yellow "Find It!" button to search for the full text in other databases. See more about Find It! in the box to the right in this guide.

The vertical toolbar on the right side of the page gives you options for what to do with the article. There are icons to:

• Save the article to your Google Drive. Be sure that you select "Open with Google Docs" when you open it in Drive or it will look like unreadable html code. Also, what you save will be the info available on the article abstract page, not the full text of the article. However, there should be a link back to the database page with the full text link in the Google Doc.
• Print the article. This costs $.10/page at all Miami University printers. Additional information about printing at Miami University is available on this page.
• Email the article to yourself. 
• Get a citation for the article in various formats. Scroll to the format you are using (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). Highlight, copy, and paste the article citation from this page into your paper. Some of the required formatting does not copy over correctly (hanging indent, sometimes italics, sometimes portions appear in all caps when they should not, etc.). You will need to manually correct these mistakes, so be sure to compare your pasted citations to some of the sample citations I linked to on the Citing Sources tab of this guide.

Some databases include the full text of the articles described in the them. However, most databases do not. When the database does not have the full text of an article, you should see a yellow Find It button like the one above. 

Clicking this button will search through other databases that Miami subscribes to looking for the full text. If a different database has it, you will see a link to it on the new tab that opens.

If there is no full text link on the new tab, you should see a link to a form for a service called interlibrary loan (ILL). If you fill out this form, the library will try to find the article from another library on your behalf. This can take several days, however, so if you need the article right away, it is not a good option for you.