STC 135 - Kimura
How to use this guide
This research guide is for students in Dr. Keisuke Kimura's STC 135 class working on the Informative Speech (see page 8 of the syllabus). It is arranged by the three possible approaches you can take: Miami University-specific research, communication research, or research from your major/minor discipline. If you are unsure if your topic will be appropriate, please ask Dr. Kimura. Reach out to me, Mark Shores, if you're having trouble finding sources. Use the blue "Email Me" button beneath my picture.
Miami University Specific Research
Miami U, Oxford, and Local History: Miami History: Links to digitized photos and texts related to the history of Miami University. Links to the current student newspaper - Miami Student - and historical coverage.
Oxford and SW Ohio History - Links to newspaper collections, published histories, maps & geography, photographs, census data, and more.
Communication Research
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new windowComAbstracts abstracts articles published in 40 primary journals of the communication field. Coverage varies for each journal, but usually begins in the late 1980s. The citation or abstract may be searched by keyword or phrase.
Research from your Major/Minor Discipline
- Articles & More - This tool searches many different article databases and the library catalog (for books & e-books)
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowContaining resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
APA Style Help
Purdue OWL APA Guidelines - Use the menu on the left side of the screen for help with in-text citations and your references.
zoterobib - A free citation generator. Copy/paste a website URL to get an APA style citation but be sure to verify the citation is correct!
Your Librarian at Hamilton
205 Schwarm
Miami University Regionals (Hamilton)