Spanish and Portuguese: Find Books
Call Numbers
Library of Congress call numbers arrange books by topic. Below are some call number ranges that cover Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American history, languages and cultures.
Spanish History
DP1-402
Portuguese History
DP501-900.22
Latin American History
F1201-3799
Catalán
PC3801-3976
Spanish Language
PC4001-4977
Portuguese Language
PC5001-5498
Indigenous Languages of the Americas
PM3001-7356
Spanish and Spanish American Literature
PQ6001-8929
Portuguese and Brazilian Literature
PQ9000-9999
Interlibrary Loan
Searched Miami's catalog and OhioLink and still can't find the book you want?
Request it through interlibrary loan.
Interlibrary loan will find a library that owns the book, and will request it on your behalf.
To request a book through interlibrary loan, fill out the online form: https://ill.lib.miamioh.edu/illiad/
Online Reference Books
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and FictionContains the full text of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
- Electronic Text Collections in Western European LiteratureThis page lists Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and FictionContains the full text of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. It is a volunteer effort, and everyone is welcome to contribute.
- Teatro espanol del siglo de oroFull-text database in Spanish contains the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain, approximately 850 works by 16 major authors.
Finding Online Books
- DigitaliaDigitalia provides access to two collections of e-books: the Latin American Literature collection (107 titles) and the Spanish Literature collection (315 titles).
- OhioLink Electronic Book CenterThe Scholarly & Reference E-Book Collection contains electronic books purchased by OhioLINK from Oxford University Press, Springer, ABC-CLIO, Gale, and Sage.
- Oxford Scholarship OnlineCollection of full text books from Oxford University Press.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowE-books and journals the Libraries have purchased through Project MUSE. The Libraries do not have access to all content available in Project MUSE.
