NSG 660: Finding Articles
Important Note
Please be sure to review the information on the Before You Search! tab on the left menu before you begin searching in the tools listed on this tab. The Before You Search! tab explains what a "peer reviewed" article is and how to tell when you have found one. It also gives tips for building more effective searches. There are brief videos and tutorials that explain how to choose the best keywords, refine your searches, and evaluate the information you find.
CINAHL, Health Source Nursing, and MEDLINE
You’ll need to enter your Miami Unique ID and password to access these resources from off-campus.
CINAHL Plus
Health Source Nursing
MEDLINE
You can search all of these databases together by clicking the title of one of them and then following the instructions below.
Above the search boxes, click the link for the database you are currently using. A new screen will appear with a list of all the Ebsco databases available at MU. Place a check in the box next to each of the databases you want to add from the list. Click the "Select" button at the bottom of the list.
After you click on a blue article title in your results list, you will be taken to a new page with more detailed information about that specific article. This often includes an abstract, or summary, of the article viewable by scrolling down the page. Reading the abstract is a quick way to determine whether the article answers your research question or not. If it does, you should scroll back to the top of the page and look for buttons that say "PDF Full Text" or "Download" to read the entire article.
For each article, there is a toolbar of icons at the top right of the screen. Clicking these will allow you to:
Temporarily save the article during your current session. If you close your browser, these items will be lost.
Cite the article in a variety of citation formats.
Permanently save the article in a project folder in Ebsco. To use this feature, you will need to first register for a free Ebsco account.
Share the article to your Google Drive, OneDrive, or with anyone using the "Create link" option
There is also a second way to download the article via this toolbar
PubMed
Enter your terms in the search box. On the left side of the results list, you'll have options to limit to articles published within a specific date range, and by type of article (such as randomized controlled trial).
To get to an article, click on the title. Then look in the upper right-hand corner for a section called "Full text links" (the links will vary with each article). If you see links other than the "Find It!" button, then click one of those to get to the full text of the article. If the "Find It!" button is the only option, then click it. It will search all of our other resources to see if we have access to full text.
Here is a detailed tutorial about using PubMed. Open the video in YouTube to see individual chapters and skip to the specific sections that interest you. (Click "Show More" in the video description to see the chapters)