NSG 461: Finding Articles
Finding Articles
The resources on this page will give you access to articles to support your opinions in your discussion posts and to find more information related to your nursing and health topics.
To ensure that the information you find is related to older adults, add a keyword related to older adults in your search. Some examples of keywords you could use are:
aged (CINAHL's preferred term)
older people (Health Source's preferred term)
elderly
aging
older adults
aged, 80 and over
Remember that original research articles will have sections titled:
Methods/Methodology
Results
Conclusions/Discussion
Other Resources
You’ll need to enter your Miami Unique ID and password to access these resources from off-campus.
You can search all of these databases together by clicking the title of one of them and then following the instructions below.
Click the blue “Choose Databases” link above the text entry boxes at the top of the screen. Place a check in the box next to each of the databases you want to add on the popup window. Click OK at the top or bottom of the popup window.
Then enter your search terms. You can also search the resources listed above individually, if you would like. Remember to add in a keyword related to "aged" to ensure your articles focus on that population.
If you only want articles that are scholarly/peer reviewed, check the box next to “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals”.
If you see links that say “PDF Full Text” or “HTML Full Text”, clicking on those will take you to the full text of the article. Then, on the right-hand side of the page, you’ll see options to:
--download/save the article (blue arrow in the screenshot),
--print the article (red arrows in the screenshot),
--email the article to yourself (yellow arrow in the screenshot), and
--get the citation information for the article (green arrow in the screenshot).
After you click the icon to get the citation, you can highlight, copy, and paste the APA-formatted citation into your document. Always be sure to double-check your copied citations, though. Sometimes formatting, such as italics and hanging indents, aren’t correct. Information is typically in the correct order, but good to double-check that as well.
PubMed
Enter your terms in the search box. On the left side of the results list, you'll have options to limit to articles published within a specific date range, and by type of article (such as randomized controlled trial).
To get to an article, click on the title. Then look in the upper right-hand corner for a section called "Full text links" (the links will vary with each article). If you see links other than the "Find It!" button, then click one of those to get to the full text of the article. If the "Find It!" button is the only option, then click it. It will search all of our other resources to see if we have access to full text.
Here is a detailed tutorial about using PubMed. Open the video in YouTube to see individual chapters and skip to the specific sections that interest you. (Click "Show More" in the video description to see the chapters)