Subject & Course Guides: Mkt 435: Home

Generational & Diverse Consumers

Marketing to Millennials

Marketing to Gen Z and Diverse Consumers

NY Times & WSJ

New York Times This link opens in a new window
During the remote instruction period, off-campus account registration and login for the New York Times is available
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Full FREE access to the WSJ online for ALL Miami students, staff, and faculty. To sign up, go to the WSJ registration page at http://wsj.com/MiamiOH. Once you set up your account, you can go directly to https://www.wsj.com/ from any device anywhere in the world.

Best Bets

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this to find scholarly and trade journal articles on Roto-Rooter, competitors, consumers, drain cleaners, diverse consumers, etc.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Use this to find company data on Roto-Rooter and their competitors.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
This is a source for industry reports on areas such as plumbers and plumbing service franchises.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline has information on Roto-Rooter and it's parent company Chemed.
MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
Mediamark will give you information on consumers that purchase drain cleaning products. For details on how to read the data and use Mediamark, see the Mediamark Handout
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel has reports on types of consumers such as moms, Hispanics, affluent consumers, homeowners, etc.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
This will let you create maps and tables of data with information concerning who hires plumbing services. You can also locate Roto-Rooter franchises on the map.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a great source for all sorts of statistical data and graphs. Use the "quote" icon to get an APA citation for a specific graph.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.