HST 296 - Bouril: Find Articles
About Article Sources
Articles from history journals count as secondary sources, not primary sources. They are best found in the subscription databases listed below. All of these resources can be logged in to from off-campus using your Miami ID and password.
Article Databases
Academic Search Complete - A good general database for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. Use the "Choose Databases" link at the top of the page to cross-search Historical Abstracts, Humanities International Complete, or America: History and Life, depending on your topic.
Historical Abstracts - History journal articles covering the period 1450 to present. Excludes topics in U.S. and Canadian history.
America: History and Life - Covers the history of the U.S. and Canada.
JSTOR - Full-text scholarly journal articles from older issues.
Project Muse - 100% full-text journal articles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Use the Find It! Button
Some databases include the full text of the articles described in the them. However, many databases do not. When the database does not have the full text of an article, you should see an Access now button like the one above.
Clicking this button runs a search through other databases that Miami subscribes to looking for the full text. A new tab will open with availability info:
- If a different database has the full text, you will see a link to it
- If there is no full text link on the new tab, you should see a link to a service called interlibrary loan (ILL). After you fill out the linked form, library staff will get a copy of the article from another library for you. This can take several days, however, so if you need the article right away, it is not a good option for you.