FSW 206 (Wells): Journal Articles & Statistics

Important Note

Please be sure to review the information on the Before You Search! tab on the left menu before you begin searching in the tools listed on this tab. The Before You Search! tab explains what a "peer reviewed" article is and how to tell when you have found one. It also gives tips for building more effective searches. There are brief videos and tutorials that explain how to choose the best keywords, refine your searches, and evaluate the information you find.

Social Science Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains information on the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Additional topics include: addictions, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, education, human services, mental health, therapy. 8 simultaneous users.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.

You’ll need to enter your Miami Unique ID and password to access this resource from off-campus.

Enter your keywords in the box(es).

If you see links that say “PDF Full Text” or “HTML Full Text”, clicking on those will take you to the full text of the article. Then, on the right-hand side of the page, you’ll see options to:

download/save the article (blue arrow in the screenshot),
print the article (red arrows in the screenshot),
email the article to yourself (yellow arrow in the screenshot), and
get the citation information for the article (green arrow in the screenshot).

After you click the icon to get the citation, you can highlight, copy, and paste the MLA-formatted citation into your document. Always be sure to double-check your copied citations, though. Sometimes formatting, such as italics and hanging indents, aren’t correct. Information is typically in the correct order, but good to double-check that as well.

Statistics

Social Work

Health

National Center for Health Statistics
National Vital Statistics System
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration
Food Choices & Health (from the Economic Research Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture)

Labor

Criminal Justice

Other Statistics

Sourced from Krista McDonalds FSW 201 LibGuide

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2024 12:17 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/FSW206W
Print Page