Skip to Main Content

FSW 201 (Hamilton): Research Essay

Scholarly Journal Articles

You can search all four of these databases at the same time by selecting one of them and then clicking the blue "Choose Databases" link. When the pop up box opens, place a check in the box beside each database name you want to include in the search and then click the "Continue" button.

Screenshot of EBSCO database with the "Choose Databases" link highlighted in a red box.

Click on blue article titles to see additional information including an abstract. Full text links are located in the top right corner. When no full text link is present, try the yellow "Find It!" button button to search for the full text in other databases. Use the tool bar on the right to print, save, email, and cite your articles in APA format. The screenshot below shows all of these areas and buttons.

Screen shot of EBSCO database with full text, abstract, and toolbar highlighted in red boxed.

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

Most databases do not have the actual journal articles housed on them, some databases, like Academic Search Complete will have some of them.  Instead, they usually just contain information about the article.  Some databases will allow you to search full-text only, but beware that you are not searching all the articles that we subscribe to.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item.  You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.