ENG 274 - Buchberger
Welcome to your Research Guide
This research guide will help you find sources for ENG 274's Paper 3: Analysis of Course Theme(s) in Texts. You are required to find one article for Module 4, Discussion #10, and for the final paper, have at least two peer-reviewed articles on your topic. The databases below are the main way to find the required sources. It's a good idea to find more than the minimum of two sources. Be sure to read over these guidelines on MLA Style, and ask for help from the Writing Center if needed. If you need help from me, please contact me using the blue "Email Me' button below my picture. Good luck!
Quick Links
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000).
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowDesigned for undergraduate students, this contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
Other Article Databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from prehistory to the present. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history. 1450 C.E. to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowMany full-text scholarly journals across different academic disciplines. JSTOR tends to not have the most recently published scholarship.
Citing in MLA Style
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) MLA Style - A useful guide to the 9th ed. of MLA Style with sample papers, citation examples, and how to do in-text citations.
MLA Handbook - Online version of the MLA style handbook. Outlines how to document sources and format research papers.
Your Librarian at Hamilton
205 Schwarm
Miami University Regionals (Hamilton)