ENG 225 Flanigan
Welcome to your Research Guide
This research guide will help you find sources for ENG 225's annotated bibliography and self-designed research Project assignment. The databases below are the main way to find the required sources. It's a good idea to find more than the minimum of six sources. Be sure to read over these guidelines on MLA Style, and ask for help from the Writing Center if needed. If you need help from me, please contact me using the blue "Email Me' button below my picture. Good luck!
Quick Links
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Books & MoreUse Books & More to find scholarly books and book chapters in the Miam University Libraries online catalog.
- Articles & MoreThis tool will search across many of our subscription databases. Be sure to use the limiters on the left side of the screen to narrow your search by type of source (Academic Journals, Magazines, Books, etc.)
Other Article Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Google ScholarCast a broad search across Google's specialized collection of academic research. It's best to log in to your Miami email account first so that Google Scholar will connect you to Miami's subscription resources.
Q & A on MLA
Q. How do I format my paper according to MLA style? What spacing and font should I use? What should my title page look like?
A. General MLA Formatting Info
Q. How do I cite information in the body of my paper? What should a quote or paraphrase look like in my paper?
A. In-Text Citation Basics
Q. What should my Works Cited list at the end of the paper look like? What should the header for this page look like? In what order should my sources be listed?
A. Works Cited Basics
Q. How do I cite a book, article, website, etc. on my Works Cited page?
A. Books | Articles | Websites and Other Electronic Resources
Your Librarian at Hamilton
205 Schwarm
Miami University Regionals (Hamilton)