chat loading...
EGS 495: Find Articles
General and Subject Specific Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowis your best starting point for scholarly articles in many disciplines. You can limit to Scholarly/Peer Reviewed articles and get citations in different styles. After logging in to Academic Search Complete, (or any of the resources below) you can use the "Choose Databases" option at the top of the screen to cross-search as many databases as you want.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000).
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals in sociology and related fields.
-
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowContains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more
Use the Find It! Button
Some databases include the full text of the articles described in the them. However, many databases do not. When the database does not have the full text of an article, you should see an Access now button like the one above.
Clicking this button runs a search through other databases that Miami subscribes to looking for the full text. A new tab will open with availability info:
- If a different database has the full text, you will see a link to it
- If there is no full text link on the new tab, you should see a link to a service called interlibrary loan (ILL). After you fill out the linked form, library staff will get a copy of the article from another library for you. This can take several days, however, so if you need the article right away, it is not a good option for you.