ECO 131- Kinghorn: Economic Perspectives on Inequality in America: Home
Article Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business & economics journals, the majority of which are available in full-text.
Statistics Resources
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for quantitative data, statistics and related information on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources on a single platform.
Topics covered include poverty rates broken up into a variety of segments. A few examples include, ethnicity, age, and gender.
- Data.Census.GovThe census bureau's main data dissemination platform.
Here you can find raw data and create maps/ profiles on poverty and income inequality among other things. - Bureau of Labor StatisticsProvide state, regional and national data on labor forces. Also provide some international data.
News
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
Background Information & Opposing Viewpoints Databases
- Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new windowConcise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas including economics. Offers a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects written by experts in the field.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowContaining resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, including poverty and inequality, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
- CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new windowReports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Online Resources
- Pew Research CenterReputable research and survey center. Here you can find a variety of information gathered from all over the world. Topics include poverty and income inequality and allow you to research specific segments of the population including gender, age, ethnicity, etc...
- Census LibraryRepository of the United States Census Bureau. Here you can go through all of the reports, fact sheets, blogs, videos, etc... posted by the census. Search for your topic of interest in the top left search bar or browse by sections.
Business Librarian
Zachary Grisham
Contact:
King Library: Room 201
Email: Grishaz@miamioh.edu
Email: Grishaz@miamioh.edu
513-529-4144
Subjects: Accountancy, Business, Business Legal Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management, Marketing