Welcome to the Guide!
This guide is meant to help you as you prepare for your Informed Allyship Workshop. If you have any specific questions, feel free to reach out to the library using the "Contact Us" tab!
Online Resources and Articles
Get Background Information:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new windowOffers a comprehensive and international set of resources to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines. Resources include primary sources, supporting materials, archives, and video. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEssential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
____________________________________________________________________________
Find information about Ally Workshops:
- Allyship
- Ally Training
- Disability Advocacy Organizations (trying this in Google will give you a lot of ideas)
- Look through the local, state, and national resources below (although this is nowhere near an exhaustive list!)
- Look into Disabled Leaders and what workshops and programs they are promoting (their social media accounts are a great place for this)
Local and National Resources
Local and State:
- The Arc of Ohio"The Arc of Ohio is the voice of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, their families, friends of people with disabilities and those who work with them."
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
National:
Ally and Advocacy Organizations
- Ada Initiative"The Ada Initiative was a United States 501(c)3 charitable organization. Between 2011 and 2015 the Ada Initiative supported women in open technology and culture through activities such as producing codes of conduct and anti-harassment policies, advocating for gender diversity and teaching ally skills."
- The Advocacy Academy"The Advocacy Academy is a transformational Social Justice Fellowship for young people who are passionate about making a difference in the world. Across six intense months, we support young leaders from marginalised communities to develop the knowledge, skills and confidence to tackle some of the biggest challenges of the 21st century."
- Allies for Change"Allies for Change provides anti-oppression education, training, and resources for individuals and organizations committed to social change. Our programs invite participants to sharpen their analysis and tools for structural change while enlarging their capacities for compassion, hope, and joy."
- Project LETSWe build peer-led communities of support, education & advocacy for folks with lived experience of mental illness, trauma, "Disability, and/or neurodivergence. We believe that principles of Disability Justice are key components to supporting collective healing and our human rights."
Student Organizations
Anti-Ableism Guide
Books
Brilliant Imperfection by
In Brilliant Imperfection Eli Clare uses memoir, history, and critical analysis to explore cure--the deeply held belief that body-minds considered broken need to be fixed. Cure serves many purposes. It saves lives, manipulates lives, and prioritizes some lives over others. It provides comfort, makes profits, justifies violence, and promises resolution to body-mind loss. Clare grapples with this knot of contradictions, maintaining that neither an anti-cure politics nor a pro-cure worldview can account for the messy, complex relationships we have with our body-minds. The stories he tells range widely, stretching from disability stereotypes to weight loss surgery, gender transition to skin lightening creams. At each turn, Clare weaves race, disability, sexuality, class, and gender together, insisting on the nonnegotiable value of body-mind difference. Into this mix, he adds environmental politics, thinking about ecosystem loss and restoration as a way of delving more deeply into cure. Ultimately Brilliant Imperfection reveals cure to be an ideology grounded in the twin notions of normal and natural, slippery and powerful, necessary and damaging all at the same time.
ISBN: 9780822373520Publication Date: 2017-01-06
Care Work (Available through OhioLINK) by
Finalist, Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction In their new, long-awaited collection of essays, Lambda Literary Award-winning writer and longtime disability justice activist and performance artist Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha explores the politics and realities of disability justice, a movement that centres the lives and leadership of sick and disabled queer, trans, Black, and brown people, with knowledge and gifts for all. Leah writes passionately and personally about creating spaces by and for sick and disabled queer people of colour, and creative "collective access" -- access not as a chore but as a collective responsibility and pleasure -- in our communities and political movements. Bringing their survival skills and knowledge from years of cultural and activist work, Piepzna-Samarasinha explores everything from the economics of queer femme emotional labour, to suicide in queer and trans communities, to the nitty-gritty of touring as a sick and disabled queer artist of colour. Care Work is a mapping of access as radical love, a celebration of the work that sick and disabled queer/people of colour are doing to find each other and to build power and community, and a toolkit for everyone who wants to build radically resilient, sustainable communities of liberation where no one is left behind. Powerful and passionate, Care Work is a crucial and necessary call to arms.
ISBN: 9781551527383Publication Date: 2018-10-30
The Disability Rights Movement by
In this updated edition, Doris Zames Fleischer and Frieda Zames expand their encyclopedic history of the struggle for disability rights in the United States, to include the past ten years of disability rights activism.The book includes a new chapter on the evolving impact of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the continuing struggle for cross-disability civil and human rights, and the changing perceptions of disability. The authors provide a probing analysis of such topics as deinstitutionalization, housing, health care, assisted suicide, employment, education, new technologies, disabled veterans, and disability culture. Based on interviews with over one hundred activists, The Disability Rights Movement tells a complex and compelling story of an ongoing movement that seeks to create an equitable and diverse society, inclusive of people with disabilities.
ISBN: 9781439907450Publication Date: 2011-06-03
Inclusion, Equity and Access for Individuals with Disabilities by
The book provides multiple perspectives and insights on the area of Inclusion, Equity and Access for people with disabilities and brings together various inclusive effective practices from 21 countries across the world most comprehensively in one book. The book documents perspectives from educational researchers and teacher educators through first-hand experience using cutting-edge research and conceptual understandings, thought processes, and reflections. The book brings together various methodologies to expose scientific truths in the area of disability and inclusion. Chapter authors utilize a self-reflective stance, representing state of the art theory and practice for exploring notions of disability. Authors examine cultural relational practices, common values and beliefs, and shared experiences for the purpose of helping cultural members and cultural strangers better understand interdependent factors. Each chapter is an attempt to unravel a thought provoking, comprehensive, and thorough understanding of the challenges and abilities of individuals with disabilities shaped by their own culture, society and country, re-engaging the promise of scientific research as a generative form of inquiry. The book is designed to be of use to a wide range of professionals; researchers, practitioners, advocates, special educators and parents providing information and or discussions on educational needs, health care provisions, and social services irrespective of country and culture.
ISBN: 9789811359613Publication Date: 2019-03-13
Occupying Disability: Critical Approaches to Community, Justice, and Decolonizing Disability by
This book explores the concept of "occupation" in disability well beyond traditional clinical formulations of disability: it considers disability not in terms of pathology or impairment, but as a range of unique social identities and experiences that are shaped by visible or invisible diagnoses/impairments, socio-cultural perceptions and environmental barriers and offers innovative ideas on how to apply theoretical training to real world contexts. Inspired by disability justice and "Disability Occupy Wall Street / Decolonize Disability" movements in the US and related movements abroad, this book builds on politically engaged critical approaches to disability that intersect occupational therapy, disability studies and anthropology. "Occupying Disability" will provide a discursive space where the concepts of disability, culture and occupation meet critical theory, activism and the creative arts. The concept of "occupation" is intentionally a moving target in this book. Some chapters discuss occupying spaces as a form of protest or alternatively, protesting against territorial occupations. Others present occupations as framed or problematized within the fields of occupational therapy and occupational science and anthropology as engagement in meaningful activities. The contributing authors come from a variety of professional, academic and activist backgrounds to include perspectives from theory, practice and experiences of disability. Emergent themes include: all the permutations of the concept of "occupy," disability justice/decolonization, marginalization and minoritization, technology, struggle, creativity and change. This book will engage clinicians, social scientists, activists and artists in dialogues about disability as a theoretical construct and lived experience.
ISBN: 9789401799843Publication Date: 2015-09-03
Promoting Diversity and Social Justice by
Promoting Diversity and Social Justice provides theories, perspectives, and strategies that are useful for working with adults from privileged groups¿those who are in a more powerful position in any given type of oppression. The thoroughly revised edition of this accessible and practical guide offers tools that allow educators to be more reflective and intentional in their work¿helping them to consider who they¿re working with, what they¿re doing, why they¿re doing it and how to educate more effectively. New features include: A new chapter, "The Joy of Unlearning Privilege/Oppression," highlights specific ways people from privileged groups benefit from unlearning privilege/oppression and from creating greater equity. A new chapter, "Allies and Action," gives focus and guidance on how people from privileged groups can constructively and appropriately be involved in social change efforts. Updated Appendix of additional resources. The theories and approaches discussed can be applied to a range of situations and audiences. This book is an excellent resource for professors, diversity trainers, teachers in classrooms and workshops, counselors, organizers, student affairs personnel, community educators, advocates, group facilitators, and any others involved with educating about diversity and equity.
ISBN: 9780415872874Publication Date: 2011-03-29
The Workshop Book by
THE WORKSHOP BOOK TEACHES YOU HOW TO RUN AN EFFECTIVE WORKSHOP - EFFORTLESSLY. Based on methods developed - and proven - in business, this highly visual and practical book will show readers how to design, lead and run effective workshops. The tools you need to design and lead successful workshops yourself Ways to enhance the collective intelligence of any team, keeping them focussed and engaged Tricks and tips for structuring time to generate maximum productivity in a limited session Advice on how to find inspiration and creativity to generate great ideas for any industry or brief Workshop fundamentals, so you can add your own flair
ISBN: 9781292119700Publication Date: 2016-05-05
Find more books in the Miami University Libraries Catalog and OhioLINK.