Government Policy Research Best Bets
- Congress.govOfficial federal government site for legislative information. Find current proposed legislation, track legislation, information about Congress, etc.
Legal Research
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowIncludes American Jurisprudence, Ohio Jurisprudence, and Corpus Juris Secundum, as well as a large collection of legal and news databases, including federal and state law, statutes and cases, transcripts of news programs and local sources.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull-text of the entire historical runs many law journals with more being added regularly. Also included: the Federal Register (1936-1981), U.S. Reports (Supreme Court opinions), United States Treaties sets, international treaties, and many more.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowU.S. Congress documents including hearings, legislation, and regulations. Provides bill tracking and legislative histories. ProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. Indexes some social media from various government bodies. 1789-present.
- LLSDC's Legislative Source BookWritten by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC. Thorough explanation of how federal law is written, how to find federal law and regulations, and more.
- Legal Information Institute - Cornell LawEasy to understand but comprehensive guide to US law.
Business Research Databases
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
Policy Websites
- CRS Reports - Official SiteCongressional Research Service (CRS) reports are non-partisan reports created for Congress members and staff to explain a topic. The official site has the most recent reports, however, some older reports may not be available.
- Every CRS ReportUnofficial site. Limit by date to see newer reports, and older reports that were not easily findable from the official site can often be found here.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowOnline access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
News
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
Social Media Ethics - Privacy & Data
Social Media Law and Ethics by
In this new textbook, social media professor Jeremy Lipschultz introduces students to the study of social media law and ethics, integrating legal concepts and ethical theories. The book explores free expression, as it applies to students, media industry professionals, content creators and audience members. Key issues and practices covered include copyright law, data privacy, revenge porn, defamation, government censorship, social media platform rules, and employer policies. Research techniques are also used to suggest future trends in social media law and ethics. Touching on themes and topics of significant contemporary relevance, this accessible textbook can be used in standalone law and ethics courses, as well as emerging social media courses that are disrupting traditional public relations, advertising and journalism curricula. Case studies, discussion questions, and online resources help students engage with the complexities and ambiguities of this future-oriented area of media law, making it an ideal textbook for students of media law, policy and ethics, mass media, and communication studies.
ISBN: 9781000406399Publication Date: 2021-07-22
Privacy Is Power by
An Economist Book of the Year Every minute of every day, our data is harvested and exploited... It is time to pull the plug on the surveillance economy. Governments and hundreds of corporations are spying on you, and everyone you know. They're not just selling your data. They're selling the power to influence you and decide for you. Even when you've explicitly asked them not to. Reclaiming privacy is the only way we can regain control of our lives and our societies. These governments and corporations have too much power, and their power stems from us--from our data. Privacy is as collective as it is personal, and it's time to take back control. Privacy Is Power tells you how to do exactly that. It calls for the end of the data economy and proposes concrete measures to bring that end about, offering practical solutions, both for policymakers and ordinary citizens.
ISBN: 9781612199153Publication Date: 2021-04-06
- What is Data Privacy?From SNIA (Storage Networking Industry Association). Tons of information here on data handling.
Social Media Ethics - Algorithms, etc.
Predatory Algorithms
Don't Be Evil by
A penetrating indictment of how today's largest tech companies are hijacking our data, our livelihoods, our social fabric, and our minds--from an acclaimed Financial Times columnist and CNN analyst WINNER OF THE PORCHLIGHT BUSINESS BOOK AWARD * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND EVENING STANDARD "Don't be evil" was enshrined as Google's original corporate mantra back in its early days, when the company's cheerful logo still conveyed the utopian vision for a future in which technology would inevitably make the world better, safer, and more prosperous. Unfortunately, it's been quite a while since Google, or the majority of the Big Tech companies, lived up to this founding philosophy. Today, the utopia they sought to create is looking more dystopian than ever: from digital surveillance and the loss of privacy to the spreading of misinformation and hate speech to predatory algorithms targeting the weak and vulnerable to products that have been engineered to manipulate our desires. How did we get here? How did these once-scrappy and idealistic enterprises become rapacious monopolies with the power to corrupt our elections, co-opt all our data, and control the largest single chunk of corporate wealth--while evading all semblance of regulation and taxes? In Don't Be Evil, Financial Times global business columnist Rana Foroohar tells the story of how Big Tech lost its soul--and ate our lunch. Through her skilled reporting and unparalleled access--won through nearly thirty years covering business and technology--she shows the true extent to which behemoths like Google, Facebook, Apple, and Amazon are monetizing both our data and our attention, without us seeing a penny of those exorbitant profits. Finally, Foroohar lays out a plan for how we can resist, by creating a framework that fosters innovation while also protecting us from the dark side of digital technology. Praise for Don't Be Evil "At first sight, Don't Be Evil looks like it's doing for Google what muckraking journalist Ida Tarbell did for Standard Oil over a century ago. But this whip-smart, highly readable book's scope turns out to be much broader. Worried about the monopolistic tendencies of big tech? The addictive apps on your iPhone? The role Facebook played in Donald Trump's election? Foroohar will leave you even more worried, but a lot better informed."--Niall Ferguson, Milbank Family Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford, and author of The Square and the Tower
ISBN: 9781984823984Publication Date: 2019-11-05
Marketing to Children
Face Altering Filters
Ethics of AI
AI ethics by
Chapter 1. Introduction: Why AI Ethics? -- Chapter 2. The Rise of AI Ethics -- Chapter 3. AI, Philosophy of Technology, and Ethics -- Chapter 4. Methods in Applied Ethics -- Chapter 5. Humans and Intelligent Machines: Underlying Values -- Chapter 6. Normative Ethical Theory and the Challenges from AI Ethics -- Chapter 7. Philosophy for AI Ethics: Metaethics, Metaphysics, and More -- Chapter 8. Persons and AI -- Chapter 9. Individuals, Society, and AI: Online Communication -- Chapter 10. Towards the Future with AI: Work and Superintelligence -- Chapter 11. Our Future with AI: Future Projections and Moral Machines
ISBN: 9789811993824Publication Date: 2023
How algorithms create and prevent fake news : exploring the impacts of social media, deepfakes, GPT-3, and more by
1. Perils of Pageview -- 2. Crafted by Computer -- 3. Deepfake Deception -- 4. Autoplay the Autocrats -- 5. Prevarication and the Polygraph -- 6. Gravitating to Google -- 7. Avarice of Advertising -- 8. Social Spread -- 9. Tools for Truth
ISBN: 9781484271551Publication Date: 2021
Deepfakes
- Increasing Threat of Deepfake IdentitiesDepartment of Homeland Security
- What Are Deepfakes and How Are They CreatedFrom IEEE blog. IEEE is a scholarly organization for technology research.
- Deepfakes and international conflictFrom Brookings
AI and Jobs
Government Regulation of Medicine
Regulating the Price of Medicine
- OECD Pharmaceutical Pricing Policy projectLooked at cross-national impacts and implications of policies, particularly with respect to the impacts on pharmaceutical prices paid in other countries and on pharmaceutical R&D
Evergreening Patents
- Patent “Evergreening”: Issues in Innovation and CompetitionCRS Report from 2009, demonstrating this is a longstanding issue.
Monopolies and Antitrust
- Hospital monopolies are destroying health care valueOp-Ed by Indiana representative. Contains many links to other sources.
- Doubling down on healthcare monopolies: 4 cases to knowBecker's is a well-known medical news source.
Workplace Ethics
Workplace Privacy
- Workplace PrivacyFrom EPIC - Electronic Privacy Information Center
- Workplace Privacy Topic PageFrom IAPP: International Association of Privacy Professionals
Work Hours
Working Conditions
Conflicts of Interest
Globalization in the Supply Chain
Labor Conditions
Human Rights: A Key Idea for Business and Society by
Human rights is an interdisciplinary subject as well as a foundational aspect of the law. The importance of human rights at the intersection of business and society is central, yet under-analyzed. This book provides an accessible understanding of what human rights are, how business enterprises may impact human rights for better or for worse, and how such impacts can or should be managed. Human Rights: A Key Idea for Business and Society equips readers interested in the relationship between business and society with the foundational knowledge for engaging in debates and operational tasks related to the roles and responsibilities of business with regard to human rights. It covers human rights aspects relevant to common management tasks, including supply chain management, human resource management, risk management, non-financial reporting, finance, and stakeholder engagement. It covers opportunities and challenges related to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and climate change mitigation. The book explains the foundations for human rights, social expectations, and legal requirements on businesses to respect human rights and how business enterprises should identify and manage their human rights impacts. A concise introduction to a complex topic, this book is perfect reading for students of corporate social responsibility, business ethics, and international business, as well as an illuminating guide for researchers, managers, civil society organizations, government officials, and reflective practitioners.
ISBN: 9780367520533Publication Date: 2022-02-01
- OECD Guidelines for Multinational EnterprisesTowards ethical supply chains
- International Labor OrganizationUN Agency. Under Topics there are many sources surrounding supply chain ethics
- Anti-Slavery InternationalMany resources on modern forms of slavery, including in supply chains.
Supply Chain Sustainability
Library Handouts
Your Librarian
Political Science Guide
- Political Science Research GuideMuch more information on finding polling data, government information, and political research.
Citation Help & Database Tutorials
- Citation ResourcesGuide to various citation styles with examples.
- Database videosShort videos demonstrating how to use the library databases.