Arab American Heritage Month: Research
Digging Deeper
Run searches in the databases below to dig deeper into specific topics you would like to explore. Contact the library at your campus if you need assistance finding additional information.
Relevant Databases
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowA systematic bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Includes Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses and Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database, and School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present). Limited full-text.
- Mideastwire This link opens in a new window5 simultaneous users. A daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
- Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to all of Miami Libraries' Brill subscriptions: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Encyclopaedia of Islam, Third Edition as it is published, Encyclopaedia of the Qu'ran, Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures, and Index Islamicus. The first three are encyclopedias and the last a classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, the Index Islamicus Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also Muslim areas of Asia and Africa and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Included in the index are journals, conference proceedings, and monographs.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies This link opens in a new windowGuide to the current scholarship in Islamic Studies, containing original commentary and annotations reviewed by scholars in the field and citations to current scholarship organized by topic.
- Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new windowLimited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
Use the Find It! Button
Most databases do not have the actual journal articles housed on them, some databases, like Academic Search Complete will have some of them. Instead, they usually just contain information about the article. Some databases will allow you to search full-text only, but beware that you are not searching all the articles that we subscribe to.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
Digital Collections at Miami University
- Middle East Online Series 1: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 This link opens in a new windowA wide range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel as a Jewish national home, Black September, Jewish terror groups, and more.
- Middle East Online Series 2: Iraq, 1914-1974 This link opens in a new windowA broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Topics covered include the British administration in Baghdad, the Arab uprising of 1920, Iran-Iraq relations, and more.