Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIS 410-EGS 460 Animal Studies (Kulbaga): Home

Best Bets

Biography in Context - Has shorter biographies of key animal rights people from print reference books and other sources.

Opposing Viewpoints: Animal Rights sources - Opposing Viewpoints' collection of sources includes articles from newspapers & magazines, editorials, book chapters, statistics, primary documents, and links to audio and video news.

Find Books - Use this to find books on the person you chose for the Research Presentation, or for your final project topic.

Academic Search Complete - Use this to find popular and scholarly articles. Use the "Choose Databases" link to add in relevant subject-specific databases like Women's Studies International, Film and Television Literature Index, MLA International Bibliography, and others.

Bibliographies & Background Information

Bibliographies

Animal Studies Bibliography - from Michigan State University. Extensive list of sources broken down into categories like “Animals as Symbols,” “Animals as Reflexive Thinkers,” “Domestication and Predation.” Use the Find Books link above to see if Miami University or OhioLINK has a specific item.

Human-Animal Studies: a Preliminary Bibliography - the New Zealand Centre for Human-Animal Studies

Scholarly Essays from Philosophy Encyclopedias

  • Animals and Ethics by Scott Wilson. From the freely-available Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a peer-reviewed Internet resource created and edited by professors of philosophy.
  • Animal Minds - by Robert Lurz. From the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

  • Animal Consciousness - by Colin Allen & Michael Trestman. in Stanford University's free Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

  • Moral Status of Animals - by Lori Gruen- in Stanford University's free Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

 

Citation Help

Many of the library research databases will generate a citation for you automatically, but they aren't always correct! Look for mistakes like all capital letters or unusual spacing. Use these websites below for good examples of MLA, APA, and Chicago Style, plus help with citing the tough sources.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab

How do I Cite Sources? - Rentschler Library's links to helpful citation info

Zoterobib - A free citation generator tool that is free of advertisements and does a good job creating accurate citations to websites.

Your Librarian at Hamilton

Profile Photo
Mark Shores
Contact:
Rentschler Library
205 Schwarm
Miami University Regionals (Hamilton)
513-785-3203 or 513-785-3235
Website

My Pets

What research tool did you find most useful?
Book search: 0 votes (0%)
Google: 1 votes (100%)
Academic Search Complete (articles): 0 votes (0%)
Biography in Context: 0 votes (0%)
Bibliographies: 0 votes (0%)
Scholarly essays: 0 votes (0%)
None of them: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 1