ACC 495: Home

Library Data Sources Handout

ACC 495 Handout

Government & International Data Websites

US Census Data
Portal to access Census data covering all aspects of US demographics, housing, business & economic survey data, etc.
OECD Statistics
OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
World Bank Data
The Data Catalog provides free download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. It includes development indicators, education, health, population and gender statistics, debt tables, and worldwide governance indicators.
FRED
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) is a huge repository of current and historical US economic data.

IMF: International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
The IFS database contains current and historical financial data for more than 200 countries and areas.
IFS contains country data for most Fund members as well as for Anguilla, Aruba, the Central African Economic Monetary Community, Curacao, the Currency Union of Curacao and Sint Maartan, the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union, the Euro area, Montserrat, the former Netherlands Antilles, the West African Economic Monetary Union, the West Bank and Gaza and some non-sovereign territory entities.

NY Times & WSJ

New York Times This link opens in a new window
During the remote instruction period, off-campus account registration and login for the New York Times is available
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Full FREE access to the WSJ online for ALL Miami students, staff, and faculty. To sign up, go to the WSJ registration page at http://wsj.com/MiamiOH. Once you set up your account, you can go directly to https://www.wsj.com/ from any device anywhere in the world.

Data Sources

Data Planet This link opens in a new window
Includes over 200,000 US datasets on all topics including agriculture, education, transportation, crime, social welfare, energy, labor, population, etc.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Source for historical Census data, crime,and health statistics, etc. Use the Tables area to download the data into excel.
In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. This interactive website includes the entire US census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2012, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US), InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Great source for statistics in almost all subject areas - use the limiters on the left side to limit by country or type of data. Download as a PowerPoint, PDF, etc. Provides citation information you can copy and paste into a bibliography, also.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics allows you to create maps and tables using thousands of US demographic, business, and marketing data variables, including Census data, price index, crime report, and consumer expenditure data.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
WRDS This link opens in a new window
Corporate and financial data, also national accounts information in Penn World tables. Use your Miami email address to get a "daypass" to access this database.
Additional free data sets include: Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, CISDM, DMEF, Dow Jones, FDIC, Fama French, Momentum, and Liquidity, Federal Reserve Bank Reports, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Disclosure of Order Execution, and TRACE.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Hoover's is a comprehensive business database, providing US and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analysts reports.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Great source of corporate financial data - also has US and international economic data.
Mergent also now has an economic module which contains time series data on 550 U.S. and international economic variables.
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
Weekly stock reports about approximately 1,700 companies and 98 industries. Each company report contains a timeliness, safety, and technical ranking, current stock performance, beta, historical data for the previous 15 years, and more.
Finally, the Selection & Opinion is a feature section which gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest. It also provides model portfolios for investors with various objectives and a number of economic and stock-market statistics. Historical data to 1997 are also available online.
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Key Business Ratios provides competitive benchmarking data, featuring 14 key business ratios for industries as well as companies in 800 lines of business, based on D&B data.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Click on the Databases link on the Marketline homepage to access a variety of data - including detailed City and Country economic data, corporate financial and M&A data, consumer consumption data, etc..
Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
Sports Business Research Network includes data covering participation, attendance, consumer expenditures, and market shares for 34 sports and fitness activities.
ICPSR Direct This link opens in a new window
Online access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data at the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Many ICPSR datasets are provided with online analysis tools or with SAS, SPSS and Stata setup files for advanced statistical analysis.
MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
Mediamark is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For instructions on logging in and using this product, see the Mediamark Handout
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Good source for US Industry reports.