chat loading...

Integrative Studies, Databases by Concentrations

Databases by BIS Concentrations

Subject databases enable you to find full-text, scholarly articles for course-related research, including literature reviews. Miami University Libraries subscribes to over 500 subject databases; the list below is selective. See Databases A-Z for a complete listing.

BIS Concentrations

Applied Kinesiology
Applied Sociology
Child Development
Contemporary American Experience
Cross-Cultural Leadership
Environmental Studies
Families, Gender, and Society
Geographic Information Science
Health Care Administration
Information Technology Strategy for Organizations
Organizational Leadership
Personal and Community Health Perspectives
Self-Designed Concentration
Staffing and Recruitment
Understanding Media & Visual Culture

Background Information & Controversial Issues

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
For each topic, there is a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Applied Kinesiology

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with full-text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
Subjects include: clinical specialties, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health and safety, physical education, physical therapy, and sports sciences.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 journals, and full-text for more than 750 of them. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It also has the full-text for over 100 monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes professional and trade journal articles for teachers and school administrators in Pre-K through higher education.
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full-text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Subjects include: aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, and nutrition and dietetics.

Applied Sociology

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of resources related to sociology.
The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full-text for more than 500 journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed titles with some full-text as far back as 1965.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window

Child Development

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Use PsycNET to search PsycARTICLES and APA e-books for an array of subjects related to psychology. References include international material and in several languages. Users need to create an account to enter the database.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for education research. An index from the US Department of Education that has been around since 1964 ,with some full-text access.
Includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers. There is a free version that anyone can use at eric.ed.gov. Use the library version because you will be able to access the full-text of the articles you find more easily. Currently indexes more than 600 journals.

In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent grey literature such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Older ERIC documents that are not free on the web are available on microfiche, but must be recalled from storage.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes full-text publications and peer-reviewed journals.

Contemporary American Experience

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts and full-text of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article. For additional help in searching use the link in AHL.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
MAS Ultra: School Edition This link opens in a new window
Research database for high school students on all school topics.
Provides full-text from over 515 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 581 magazines. full-text is also available for many biographies and primary source documents, pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps & flags.

Cross-Cultural Leadership

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
Furthermore, this database includes full-text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full-text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Environmental Studies

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Subjects include: global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
Subjects include: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and extension and education.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Families, Gender, and Society

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Index to academic research on women, gender studies, sexual diversity, gender identity, masculinity, feminism, and LGBTQ issues. 1930-present, although the bulk of the content is 1970s -present.
Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records, with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
Gender Watch This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text database of secondary sources (journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, reports, booklets, and conference proceedings) focusing on gender issues across disciplines and countries.
Indexed are journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Archival and current content in the area of LGBT studies. Includes topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Full-text of key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. Includes materials ranging from seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, ephemera, poetry, memoirs, biographies, fiction, etc. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window

Personal and Community Health Perspectives

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Subjects include: aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, and nutrition and dietetics.
Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 journals, and full-text for more than 750 of them. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It also has the full-text for over 100 monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.

Understanding Media & Visual Culture

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is an index to articles in popular and scholarly journals about film and television. The publications indexed include international film journals, popular and trade journals, and reference books, and subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
For reviews see Academic Search Complete or Readers Guide Retrospective; for scholarly articles see also the MLA International Bibliography.
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
ComAbstracts abstracts articles published in 40 primary journals of the communication field. Coverage varies for each journal, but usually begins in the late 1980s. The citation or abstract may be searched by keyword or phrase.
You can also browse a list of keywords. ComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.). ComUpdate allows you to select classification terms and a date range in order to stay current on recently added materials.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
Furthermore, this database includes full-text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text has full text articles from over 380 art periodicals from around the world. It also includes 14,000 indexed art dissertations and 229,000 indexed art reproductions.
Coverage is broad and includes art history, architecture, advertising, archaeology, crafts, fine arts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, jewelry, film, and photography. This database also cites art reproductions used to illustrate articles or advertisements. full-text is available for selected journals starting from 1997. Abstracts available for articles published after 1994. Citations indexed from 1929-present. Art full-text continues Art Abstracts and Art Index.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a repository of over 2.5 million digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, and archaeology.
ARTstor is a repository of over 2.5 million digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, and archaeology.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Although the Benezit Dictionary of Art is included in search results, Miami does not subscribe to this portion, so you will not be able to access them. You will see a red lock icon by these entries. Wertz Art and Architecture Library's reference section has the 2006 Benezit Dictionary of Art in hardcopy.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.

Your Librarian

Jessie Long

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Gardner-Harvey Library
4200 N. University Blvd.
Middletown, OH 45042

(513)727-3225

Subjects: Applied Social Research, Civic and Regional Development, Communication Studies, Forensic Science and Investigation, Psychological Science

Your Librarian

Mark Shores

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Rentschler Library
205 Schwarm
Miami University Regionals (Hamilton)

513-785-3203 or 513-785-3235

Subjects: Appalachian Studies, Applied Social Research, Health Information Technology, Information Technology, Integrative Studies

Geographic Information Science (GIS)

Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Computer and Applied Science Complete (CASC) covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. full-text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Safari Books Online

Health Care Administration

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.

R2 Digital Library

Information Technology Strategy for Organizations

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Computer and Applied Science Complete (CASC) covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. full-text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings related to librarianship. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. Limited full-text.

Organizational Leadership

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes professional and trade journal articles for teachers and school administrators in Pre-K through higher education.
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full-text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.

Self-Designed Concentration

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to periodicals and reference books, case studies, company profiles and videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV, a social network site for tech entrepreneurs.
This resource can be utilized by students for their entrepreneurial assignments or case studies.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
A database that covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents. Limited full-text.
Vocational Studies Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, this full-text resource offers comprehensive coverage of the most relevant Associates program level content. This database covers many topics including: alcohol and drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, computer and data processing, CAD, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel and tourism, veterinary assisting, and more.

Staffing and Recruitment

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Human Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This index includes more than 100,000 entries (some are full-text) covering areas related to human resources, including human resources management, employee assistance, organizational behavior and other areas.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes full-text publications and peer-reviewed journals.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
A database that covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents. Limited full-text.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This is a news database that includes regional business journals, newspapers, newswires, and now blogs, covering all areas of the U.S.

Last Updated: Sep 13, 2023 10:04 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/bisconcentrations
Print Page

Subjects: Integrative Studies