Library Handouts, Citing Help & Database Tutorials
NY Times & WSJ
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowDuring the remote instruction period, off-campus account registration and login for the New York Times is available
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months - Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new windowFull FREE access to the WSJ online for ALL Miami students, staff, and faculty. To sign up, go to the WSJ registration page at http://wsj.com/MiamiOH. Once you set up your account, you can go directly to https://www.wsj.com/ from any device anywhere in the world.
Library Databases
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowUse this to find scholarly journal articles on economics topics. You can also search other Ebsco databases simultaneously with Econlit by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the Ebsco Search Boxes.
- Marketline This link opens in a new windowUse this to find background reports and economic statistics for your country.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior is an excellent international business resource, covering culture, customs, business etiquette, history, and language worldwide. It consists of 175 Country Guides of 119 topics each.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowThis has economic history and background data on your countries as well as statistics for trade, health, etc.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowUse this for full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Offering access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature.
- World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new windowThis is a source for full-text World Bank Reports about your countries.
Useful Websites for Development Economics
- CRAP Test for Website EvaluationThis explains how to use the CRAP Test (currency, relevance, authority, and purpose) for website evaluation.
- How to Spot Fake NewsThis gives you tips on figuring out - Real or Fake??
- Fake News QuizPlay this game to see if you can tell Fact from Fiction.
- World Bank List of Low or Middle Income CountriesScroll down to see list of countries with links to their data.
- CIA World Fact BookInformation on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications, military, and transnational issues for countries around the world.
- Human Development Indicators by CountryThis links to the UN's development indicators for each country.
- GlobalEdgeGreat site for International Business & Economics, includes links to cultural, economic, statistical, and trade data for countries.
- International Monetary Fund Country Economic DataHas detailed economic data by country, you can download to Excel. Also look at the regional publications on the upper right corner.
- OECD Economic SurveysProvides economic and demographic information for each country.
- World Bank DataThe Data Catalog provides free download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. It includes development indicators, education, health, population and gender statistics, debt tables, and worldwide governance indicators.
- Country Commercial GuidesUS State department site concerning detailed information on doing business abroad.
Your Librarian
Zachary Grisham
Contact:
King Library: Room 201
Email: Grishaz@miamioh.edu
Email: Grishaz@miamioh.edu
513-529-4144
Subjects: Accountancy, Business, Business Legal Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management, Marketing