It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNV 171 | Craig | Fall 2019: Home
Guide for LSAMP Scholars Research FYRE Course, with research projects on designing a "no pain" vaccine administration device or designing a prosthetic limb
The Research Process
The research process is a repeating cycle, both for individuals and for communities. It's very much like the scientific method.
Origin ► Planning & Design ► Data Gathering ► Data Analysis ► Results ► Reporting ►► Origin
Origin: come up with an idea
Planning and Designing: figure out a strategy for conducting the research and doing literature reviews
Data Gathering: locate or collect data or information, including previous research in the form of articles
Data Analysis: look at your collected data to see what it reveals - may decide you need to do more data gathering
Results: compiling the data analysis and begin the writing process
Reporting: writing process is fully underway, remember to cite your sources
Keep in mind as you move through the research process that it's not rigid. Things don't always go smoothly or as expected, and that's fine; sometimes researchers need to go back to previous stages and revise things or search for more data or sources.
Literature Reviews & Search Strategies
Here's what's useful about doing a literature review:
Confirmation of need
Establishment of focus
Identification of specific subject and context
Identification of theoretical base
Identification of methodological base
So, how does one conduct a literature review? Basically go find relevant resources; it helps to have a plan for this though.
Effective search strategies require persistence, adaptability and flexibility.
The best place to start is articulating search terms for your research.
In a sentence or two, articulate your central topic
Take your sentences from above and break them down into broad concepts
For each concept or topic, identify synonyms or related terms - it helps to work with others on this
After step three, you now have some terms to be your keywords, which can be combined in different ways to pull up search results that are relevant to your research. You might discover additional terms during your searching.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text covers all applied science specialties including acoustics, aeronautics, neural networks, nuclear engineering, physics, space science and much more to provide access on all of the topics of scientific interest from today's top headlines.
CINAHL (Comprehensive Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals and includes more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Compendex is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database. Compendex covers the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.
Coverage includes the following areas: Manufacturing Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Engineering Management, Chemical Engineering, Paper Engineering, Transportation, Bioengineering, Aerospace Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Environmental Engineering,
IEEE Xplore is a premier database for information in computing engineering, electrical engineering, and electronics. Full text access is available for over 130 journals and 600 conference proceedings, including all IEEE standards. Coverage for all titles is available from 1988, with selected titles from 1913.
Knovel delivers trusted, accessible, and relevant engineering answers and insights for Industry and Academia, accelerating the discovery process and connecting engineers wherever and whenever they are located, increasing their productivity without compromising operational excellence. Knovel accelerates your discovery of answers and insights from technical reference content sourced from over 140+ providers, so you can more quickly tap into must-have resources.
Instead of limiting search to narrow fields of expertise, searches in Knovel scan across the widest multidisciplinary areas, with each offering drilling down across multiple sources to deliver all relevant data, including full-text content, equations, materials and substances data, and interactive charts and graphs.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 80 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
This app expires 150 days after download; authorized users must re-download to continue using. Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas is the premier 3D anatomical atlas used for research and training in medical, health, and related fields. It includes interactive and maneuverable 3D computer graphics views of over 6,000 human anatomy structures and systems with near cadaver-like accuracy. Visible Body also provides Augmented Reality for iOS devices. Contact your Subject Librarian for assistance with this resource.
Formerly known as Web of Knowledge. The Web of Science provides access to all databases listed below: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Web of Science Additional Databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index (1900-present), Derwent Innovations Index, KCI - Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record (1864-present)
Using STEM databases for business research
Frequently there is helpful information in the article itself. Author affiliations are generally at the top. Funding information is generally near the bottom, sometimes in the acknowledgement section.
This can give you an idea of the type and quantity of research a company fund and or conducts themselves.
Some databases actually let you do searches by author affiliations and or funding agency, so be on the lookout for those options in the search or in the limiter/filter after the search.
50 simultaneous users. Previously known as OneSource. A comprehensive business database, providing US and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analysts reports.
Ibisworld is a source for in-depth full-text industrial market research reports. Over 700 reports are available in areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, etc. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
Oxford campus users only. Mintel has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Mintel also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). The reports are primarily US based but there is also some international coverage.
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 450 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The database integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources on a single platform.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports,Â trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Using someone else's idea without giving them credit is considered plagiarism and academic dishonesty. This can have serious consequences. Fortunately, it's really easy to avoid. Cite your sources. Cite all of them - not just textual, but any images, graphs, videos, audio recordings, or data you use. One reason college students are taught this is because it's expected in the professional academic publishing world too. So, it's advisable to think critically and pay attention to citations when you are evaluating the research of others.
Located in King Library, the main writing center is available to help students with their writing in a variety of contexts and genres. There is a satellite writing center located in B.E.S.T. Library more specifically for science and technical writing.
Cite Right by Charles LipsonIn his bestselling guide, Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success, veteran teacher Charles Lipson brought welcome clarity to the principles of academic honesty as well as to the often murky issues surrounding plagiarism in the digital age. Thousands of students have turned to Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly—and avoid plagiarism—when writing their research papers. With his latest book, Cite Right, Lipson once again provides much-needed counsel in a concise and affordable handbook for students and researchers. Building on Doing Honest Work in College, Lipson’s new book offers a wealth of information on an even greater range of citation styles and details the intricacies of many additional kinds of sources. Lipson’s introductory essay, “Why Cite,” explains the reasons it is so important to use citations—and to present them accurately—in research writing. In subsequent chapters, Lipson explains the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work: Chicago; MLA; APA; CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry, mathematics, and computer science); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy; Bluebook and ALWD (law); and AAA (anthropology and ethnography). His discussions of these styles are presented simply and clearly with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to science, law, and medicine. Based on deep experience in the academic trenches, Cite Right is an accessible, one-stop resource—a must-have guide for students and researchers alike who need to prepare citations in any of the major disciplines and professional studies.
Call Number: e-Book
Publication Date: 2006-10-15
Scientific Style and Format by Council of Science EditorsFor more than fifty years, authors, editors, and publishers in the scientific community have turned to Scientific Style and Format for authoritative recommendations on all matters of writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences. Now in its eighth edition, it has been fully revised to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing. nbsp; Scientific Style and Format citation style has been comprehensively reorganized, and its style recommendations have been updated to align with the advice of authoritative international bodies. Also new to the eighth edition are guidelines and examples for citing online images and information graphics, podcasts and webcasts, online videos, blogs, social networking sites, and e-books. Style instructions for physics, chemistry, genetics, biological sciences, and astronomy have been adjusted to reflect developments in each field. The coverage of numbers, units, mathematical expressions, and statistics has been revised and now includes more information on managing tables, figures, and indexes. Additionally, a full discussion of plagiarism and other aspects of academic integrity is incorporated, along with a complete treatment of developments in copyright law, including Creative Commons. nbsp; For the first time in its history, Scientific Style and Format will be available simultaneously in print and online at www.scientificstyleandformat.org.nbsp;Online subscribers will receive access to full-text searches of the new edition and other online tools, as well as the popular Chicago Manual of Style Online Forum, a community discussion board for editors and authors. Whether online or in print, the eighth edition of Scientific Style and Format remains the essential resource for those writing, editing, and publishing in the scientific community.
If you have questions or need help with research, please contact me at email@example.com.
To schedule an online meeting through Webex, Zoom, or GoogleMeet, please email me and let me know your preference.
I will be on leave during most of spring semester 2021. If you need anything when I’m out of the office, please contact the following people: Matt Benzing (firstname.lastname@example.org) for MME or CPB; Ginny Boehme (email@example.com) for GLG or GEO; or Kevin Messner (firstname.lastname@example.org) for CHM.