Skip to Main Content

NSG 435 (Hamilton): Finding Original Research (Research Study) Articles

Search Suggestions

The resources on this page will give you access to articles that contain original research.

To assist in finding articles that mention IRB approval, use IRB as one of your keywords when searching. Note that depending on your topic this could also show articles that discuss IRB ethics or IRB discussions regarding your topic.
 

Remember that original research articles will have sections titled:
Methods
Results
Conclusions

Also, make sure that the articles discuss studies that are Randomized Controlled Trials (RCT). Many of the resources listed below have a box you can check to ensure that all of the articles in your results list are RCTs. If there is not a box to check, add "Randomized Controlled Trial" as one of your keywords.

PubMed

You'll need to enter your Miami Unique ID and password to access these resources from off-campus.

PubMed

Under the search box at the top of the page, click the link that says "Advanced". This will take you to a search page with more search boxes. Remember to use a keyword related to "health care delivery" as one of your search terms.

 

To limit to articles published within the last 5 years, click on "5 years" under "Publication dates" in the left-hand side of the results list page.

 

To get to an article, click on the title. Then look in the upper right-hand corner for a section called "Full text links" (the links will vary with each article).

screenshot of full text links in pubmed

If you see links other than the "Find It!" button, then click one of those to get to the full text of the article. If the "Find It!" button is the only option, then click it. It will search all of our other resources to see if we have access to full text.

CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source

Youll need to enter your Miami Unique ID and password to access these resources from off-campus.

Choose one of these resources:
CINAHL
MEDLINE
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

At the top of the search page, there is a link that says “Choose Databases.” Click that link to add in other databases related to your topic. This allows you to search multiple databases at one time and have results from all of them show up in one results list. Add in the other 2 resources listed above by checking the box next to the name of the resource in the pop-up window.


choose databases link  

 

Then enter your search terms. You can also search the resources listed above individually, if you would like. Remember to add in a keyword related to "health care delivery" to ensure your articles focus on that area.

 

 

You can limit the results list to articles published within the last 5 years either from the search screen or the results list.

From the search screen, enter the desired date range into the boxes under the "Limit your results" heading and in the "Published Date" section.

 

                              

In the results list, you can change the date in the slide rule on the left-hand side of the page.

 
 
screenshot of options in ebsco
 

If you see links that say “PDF Full Text” or “HTML Full Text”, clicking on those will take you to the full text of the article. Then, on the right-hand side of the page, you’ll see options to:
--download/save the article (blue arrow in the screenshot),
--print the article (red arrows in the screenshot),
--email the article to yourself (yellow arrow in the screenshot), and
--get the citation information for the article (green arrow in the screenshot).

After you click the icon to get the citation, you can highlight, copy, and paste the APA-formatted citation into your document. Always be sure to double-check your copied citations, though. Sometimes formatting, such as italics and hanging indents, aren’t correct. Information is typically in the correct order, but good to double-check that as well.