Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
For each topic, there is a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.
Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each issue reports in-depth on a single theme in the areas of political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. .
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Creating a Great Online Search (and Managing Your Results)
Be specific when you search, using multiple keywords to describe your question.
In library databases, use “Limit by Subject” and “Subject: Thesaurus Terms” to focus your search to subject terms used in that database.
In addition to printing articles, keep in mind that you may also email them to yourself or save them to your M: drive so you may retrieve documents from home or on campus.
Remember that you can also email yourself the citation for an article from the email function, or use the "Cite" button to view and copy a citation from the screen.
If an item does not have a PDF or HTML full-text link, click on “Find It!” to see if the article may be found in full-text somewhere outside the database you are using. This will also allow you to see if Miami owns the periodical in print or microform at one of our libraries.
If there are articles that cannot be found in full-text from other Miami or OhioLINK Libraries, you may use Interlibrary Loan to request articles from other libraries.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports,Â trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.