International Studies: ITS 402: Cohen

Step 1: Ethnographies & Voices

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.

Alternative Press Index covers theories and practices of: socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gay and lesbian issues. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and begins with 1969.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Daily Life through History This link opens in a new window
Covers the daily customs of people across the globe throughout history up to present day. Not as contemporary as eHRAF, but may provide additional context.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures Supplement
This volume, with one hundred new articles, supplements the award-winning 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Cultures
AnthroSource
AnthroSource is an up-to-date, searchable collection of journals published by the American Anthropological Association.

Finding Ethnography Books

To find books in the catalog, first try to identify the name for the group you are researching used by the Library of Congress. The most common subject heading subheading assigned to ethnographies is "social life and customs" but "case studies" and "ethnology" are other subheadings that may be applied.

Step 2: Country Information

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

Step 3: Policy and Research Databases

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
EconLit This link opens in a new window

EconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window