International Studies: ITS 402: Peace Accords

STEP 1: Identify a place and peace accord

STEP 2: What is the context?

What was the historical, political, cultural, economic, and geographic context of the conflict?

Do these issues affect the peace accord and its implementation?

Use these journal article databases AND the library catalog to find out more.

Peace Research Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to individual papers given at every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. Limited full-text.

The index contains more than 267,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, including Journal of Peace Research, Journal of Conflict Resolution, and International Journal of Refugee Law.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from prehistory to the present. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history. 1450 C.E. to the present.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.

PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1951 to the present.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Contains ethnographic information organized by regions, subregions, and cultures. This collection does not include all of the culture groups from the original HRAF files so be sure to consult the Encyclopedia of World Cultures if a culture group is not included in this collection.
Border and Migration Studies This link opens in a new window
A collection that explores and provides historical background on select border areas in Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe in text, video, and images.

Border areas include: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Essential database for economics research.

EconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.

This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

Requesting Books and Articles Flowchart
Don't know how to get a book or article we don't have? Follow this decision tree.

STEP 3: What is the current situation?

What is happening now with the peace accord and its implementation? Use these news and current event resources to identify current issues.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

STEP 5: Repeat steps 1-4 as necessary

... and manage the sources you find with Zotero

Subject Guide

Katie Gibson

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

203 King Library

513-529-0190

Subjects: Area Studies, Asian Studies, Asian-American Studies, Black World Studies, French, German, Global and Intercultural Studies, International Studies, Italian, Languages, Latin American Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Spanish and Portuguese, Western (Individualized Studies)