International Studies: ITS 202: Wistrand

Policy memo topic handout

Focusing your policy topic

Country information

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. Information includes regional and country profiles, information on physical and social geography, history, economy, and country and comparative statistics. It also provides directory information for governmental, society, media, and business enterprises.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Contains ethnographic information organized by regions, subregions, and cultures. This collection does not include all of the culture groups from the original HRAF files so be sure to consult the Encyclopedia of World Cultures if a culture group is not included in this collection.

Policy information

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.

Policy Archive
Policy papers from think tanks, universities, governments, and foundation-funded policy research.
Policy Commons
Research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs

Finding research articles

AnthroSource
AnthroSource is an up-to-date, searchable collection of journals published by the American Anthropological Association. Good for getting starting, not comprehensive.

Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from prehistory to the present. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history. 1450 C.E. to the present.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Essential database for economics research.

EconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.

PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.

Current events

The Economist
Use the "search within this publication" box, or use the dropdown to navigate by date

New York Times This link opens in a new window
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT

Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window

Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

Subject Guide

Katie Gibson

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

203 King Library

513-529-0190

Subjects: Area Studies, Asian Studies, Asian-American Studies, Black World Studies, French, German, Global and Intercultural Studies, International Studies, Italian, Languages, Latin American Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Spanish and Portuguese, Western (Individualized Studies)