Skip to main content

NSG 441 (Hamilton): Finding Articles

Finding Articles

The resources on this page will give you access to articles to support your opinions in your discussion posts and to find more information related to your nursing and health topics.

To ensure that the information you find is related to older adults, add a keyword related to older adults in your search. Some examples of keywords you could use are:
aged (CINAHL's preferred term)
older people (Health Source's preferred term)
elderly
aging
older adults
aged, 80 and over

PubMed

You'll need to enter your Miami Unique ID and password to access these resources from off-campus.

PubMed

Under the search box at the top of the page, click the link that says "Advanced". This will take you to a search page with more search boxes. Remember to use a keyword related to "aged" as one of your search terms.

To get to an article, click on the title. Then look in the upper right-hand corner for a section called "Full text links" (the links will vary with each article).

screenshot of full text links in pubmed

If you see links other than the "Find It!" button, then click one of those to get to the full text of the article. If the "Find It!" button is the only option, then click it. It will search all of our other resources to see if we have access to full text.

Other Resources

Youll need to enter your Miami Unique ID and password to access these resources from off-campus.

Choose one of these resources:

CINAHL

MEDLINE

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

AGELINE

 

At the top of the search page, there is a link that says “Choose Databases.” Click that link to add in other databases related to your topic. This allows you to search multiple databases at one time and have results from all of them show up in one results list. Add in the other 2 resources listed above by checking the box next to the name of the resource in the pop-up window.


choose databases link  

 

Then enter your search terms. You can also search the resources listed above individually, if you would like. Remember to add in a keyword related to "aged" to ensure your articles focus on that population.

 

If you only want articles that are scholarly/peer reviewed, check the box next to “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals”.

scholarly_option

 

 

screenshot of options in ebsco

If you see links that say “PDF Full Text” or “HTML Full Text”, clicking on those will take you to the full text of the article. Then, on the right-hand side of the page, you’ll see options to:
--download/save the article (blue arrow in the screenshot),
--print the article (red arrows in the screenshot),
--email the article to yourself (yellow arrow in the screenshot), and
--get the citation information for the article (green arrow in the screenshot).

After you click the icon to get the citation, you can highlight, copy, and paste the APA-formatted citation into your document. Always be sure to double-check your copied citations, though. Sometimes formatting, such as italics and hanging indents, aren’t correct. Information is typically in the correct order, but good to double-check that as well.

Tutorials and Videos

Search Tips

“And”, “Or”, “Not” (Boolean Operators): Use the words to narrow or expand your search results. For Example:

  • “automobiles” AND “accidents” will return results that contain BOTH of the terms.
  • “juvenile” OR “adolescent” OR “teenager” will return results that contain at least one of the terms. Useful for words with similar meanings.
  • “cinderella” NOT “rock band” will return results that do NOT include the 1980’s rock band, Cinderella.

Use an * at the end of a root word to find all variations of that word. For example, “child*” will search for “child,” “children,” “childhood,” and “children's.”

Brainstorm words or concepts that are similar in meaning and use those as search terms. If you find a good resource, look at the “Subject Headings” or “Descriptors” listed and use those as additional search terms.

Bibliographies/References/Works Cited pages are great ways to find additional resources. You can search the library’s Catalogs and/or Databases.

Find It!

Find It! button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection.  An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item.  You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.