Disability Studies: Books and eBooks
How to Find Books
Use this search box to find books, ebooks, and DVDs.
Books
Occupying Disability: Critical Approaches to Community, Justice, and Decolonizing Disability by ISBN: 9789401799843Publication Date: 2015-09-03
Encyclopedia of American Disability History by
Like race and gender, disability history has recently become a critical field of study in examining our nation's heritage. Sparked by the disability rights movement of the late 20th century, disability history both expands and challenges the traditional American narrative of self-reliance, individualism, and opportunity and yields new understandings of such bedrock American values as community, family, and citizenship. From the asylum movement of the 19th century and the cover-up of Franklin Roosevelt's paralysis during his presidency to the landmark Americans with Disabilities Act and the impact of every war on veterans' physical and mental health, the experience of disability - and society's reaction to it - has changed markedly from one era to the next. The definitions of disability have also changed since the colonial era, revealing competing views, approaches, and attitudes. ""Encyclopedia of American Disability History"" is the first encyclopedia to focus on this important topic in American history. By examining the issues, events, people, activism, laws, and personal experiences and social ramifications of disability throughout U.S. history, this comprehensive three-volume reference provides a new and broader, more inclusive approach to our nation's past. More than 300 historians, scholars, and experts contributed to the more than 750 articles in this impressive work. Arranged alphabetically, each signed article includes cross-references to related entries and suggestions for further reading. Ideal for the high school and college curriculum, this accessible new encyclopedia also includes a comprehensive chronology and dozens of original documents. Entries include: Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf; Amputees and amputation; Asperger's Syndrome; Blind Boys of Alabama; Buck v. Bell; Disability art and artistic expression; Down Syndrome; Eugenics; Thomas Gallaudet; The Glass Menagerie; Guide dogs; Impairment/impaired; Little People of America; Long-term care; Million Dollar Baby; Miss Deaf America; Reproductive rights; South Park; Special Olympics; Ugly Laws; Workers' compensation; and The Yellow Wallpaper.
ISBN: 9780816070305Publication Date: 2009-08-01
The Disability Studies Reader by
The fifth edition of The Disability Studies Reader addresses the post-identity theoretical landscape by emphasizing questions of interdependency and independence, the human-animal relationship, and issues around the construction or materiality of gender, the body, and sexuality. Selections explore the underlying biases of medical and scientific experiments and explode the binary of the sound and the diseased mind. The collection addresses physical disabilities, but as always investigates issues around pain, mental disability, and invisible disabilities as well. Featuring a new generation of scholars who are dealing with the most current issues, the fifth edition continues the Reader¿s tradition of remaining timely, urgent, and critical.
ISBN: 9781138930223Publication Date: 2016-11-01
