Euromonitor Passport (formerly known as Global Market Information Database) contains more than 4,500 US and international full-text market research reports, offering in-depth strategic analysis for consumer, industrial and service sectors. It also has statistics on consumer market size data for over 300 product categories across 52 counties.
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 450 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. The database integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources on a single platform.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports,Â trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
This database includes advertising rates, circulation data, audience metrics and contact information for print and online trade journals and consumer magazines. More limited information is also available for newspapers, out-of-home advertising, online advertising, and international publications. SRDS now also provides access to Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions data. This allows you to create reports based on metro areas or zip codes and includes consumer demographic and segmentation information as well as PRIZM data.
The U.S. Census Bureau maintains a list of information data resources from many agencies, including the U.N., the World Bank, the World Health Organization and others.
United States Marketing Resources
Below are some "best bet" tools for locating data related to strategic communications, with an emphasis on the United States. Many of thee tools are also used in marketing. Please see the Marketing Libguide for related resources.
Mediamark is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. It also is a source of market share data. For instructions on logging in and using this product, see the Mediamark Handout
Mintel has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Mintel also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.).
SimplyAnalytics is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. You can also use their quick reference guide .
Limited to 3 simultaneous users. AdSpender provides a fast, top-level summary of the multimedia advertising marketplace. This web-based tool spans five years of national summary spending trends, accessible by industry, parent company, and brand.
Data is available via customizable reports with easy data exporting abilities to popular spreadsheet and flowchart programs.