Strategic Communication 450P: Find Articles and Books

Find Print Books and eBooks

These tools can be used to locate and access print and ebooks from the Miami Libraries and to request print books from other institutions.

Miami University Libraries Catalog
Start with the "Books & More" tab to find books that you can check out at Miami University.
OhioLINK
If Miami University doesn't own the book you need, you might be able to request it through OhioLINK from a participating library in Ohio.
WorldCat
If you can't find a book you need at Miami University or through OhioLINK, check to see what other libraries might have it.
Interlibrary Loan
You can then order a copy from that library through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

Databases & Indices

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
ComAbstracts abstracts articles published in 40 primary journals of the communication field. Coverage varies for each journal, but usually begins in the late 1980s. The citation or abstract may be searched by keyword or phrase.
You can also browse a list of keywords. ComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.). ComUpdate allows you to select classification terms and a date range in order to stay current on recently added materials.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
Furthermore, this database includes full-text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, transcribed and translated intercepted media (official news services as well as other types) from sources outside the United States.
Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. Key historical events are accessible directly through predefined, hyperlinked collections. From 157 different countries. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. Key historical events are accessible directly through predefined, hyperlinked collections.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. No full-text.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Some full-text.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the complete run of New York Times including with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrations in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles. 1851-3 years ago.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Index only to popular magazines (primarily United States) in the 20th century. 1890-1982.
Social Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present) This link opens in a new window
The Science Citation Index Expanded, accessed via Web of Science, indexes over 9,200 of the world’s most impactful journals across 178 scientific disciplines. More than 53 million records and 1.18 billion cited references date back from 1900 to present. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Open Access Journals

IAMCR List
The International Association for Media and Communication Research maintains a list of titles of open access journals in the field of media and communications.

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

Find It! button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.

Journal Titles

American Communication Journal
American Communication Journal welcomes submissions of traditional research articles as well as works showcased in alternative formats. We would like to encourage authors to explore innovative ways that take advantage of the potential of the Web to present their communication studies.
Communication Quarterly
Communication Research
Communication Research Trends
Communication Studies
Human Communication Research
Journal of Communication
Mass Communication & Society
Speech Communication

Info about journals

"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

Tips:

Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")

Last Updated: Feb 6, 2024 10:37 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/c.php?g=962869
Print Page