Strategic Communication 450P: Home
Quick Links
This guide is designed to assist in locating international and U.S. data, especially data related to marketing, advertising, and brand strategy. It includes information about locating scholarly and trade articles, industry reports, and numerical data.
Select from the following areas:
Finding Articles: Best Bets
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new windowComAbstracts abstracts articles published in 40 primary journals of the communication field. Coverage varies for each journal, but usually begins in the late 1980s. The citation or abstract may be searched by keyword or phrase.
International Marketing and Advertising Information Resources
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
- SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new windowThis database includes advertising rates, circulation data, audience metrics and contact information for print and online trade journals and consumer magazines, including international publications. SRDS now also provides access to Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions data. This allows you to create reports based on metro areas or zip codes and includes consumer demographic and segmentation information as well as PRIZM data
- Bureau of Economic Analysis Trade and Investment Country FactsheetsNational trade and investment information provided by the U,S. Bureau of Economic Analysis; data focuses on trade relations between the United States and the nations listed in this BEA resource.
- International Programs (U.S. Census Bureau portal to international data)The U.S. Census Bureau maintains a list of information data resources from many agencies, including the U.N., the World Bank, the World Health Organization and others.
United States Marketing Resources
Below are some "best bet" tools for locating data related to strategic communications, with an emphasis on the United States. Many of thee tools are also used in marketing. Please see the Marketing Libguide for related resources.
- MediamarkMediamark is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. It also is a source of market share data. For instructions on logging in and using this product, see the Mediamark Handout
- Mintel AcademicMintel has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Mintel also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.).
- SimplyAnalyticsSimplyAnalytics is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. You can also use their quick reference guide .
