Freedom Summer: Curriculum Guides

Resources for the 50th Anniversary of Freedom Summer,

Curriculum Guides for K-12

The following curriculum guides focus on the events of Freedom Summer and were designed to used with digitalized primary sources in the Freedom Summer Digital Collections supported by the Walter Havighurst Special Collections & University Archives at Miami University. Digitized material relating to Freedom Summer can be found in two digital collections: The Freedom Summer Text & Photo Archive and the Freedom Summer AV Collection. Original materials can be viewed in person at the Walter Havighurst Special Collections & University Archives at Miami University in Oxford, OH.

First Grade -- Freedom to Read
A four-week lesson plan created Cindy Dean, the Library Media Teacher at Seven Mile Elementary School in Seven Mile, Ohio
Second & Third Grades -- Freedom to Create
A four-week lesson plan created Cindy Dean, the Library Media Teacher at Seven Mile Elementary School in Seven Mile, Ohio
Fourth Grade -- Freedom to Explore
A four-week lesson plan created Cindy Dean, the Library Media Teacher at Seven Mile Elementary School in Seven Mile, Ohio
Fifth Grade -- Freedom to Be Me
A four-week lesson plan created Cindy Dean, the Library Media Teacher at Seven Mile Elementary School in Seven Mile, Ohio
Sixth, Seventh, & Eighth Grades -- The Civil Rights Movement
An active learning lesson for social studies developed by Jacky Johnson, University Archivist at the Walter Havighurst Special Collections & University Archives.
Ninth & Tenth Grades -- The Civil Rights Movement
An active learning lesson for social studies developed by Laura Goley, a Spanish teacher at Carlisle High School in Carlisle, Ohio
Tenth Grade -- Freedom Summer: Learning From the Past to Empower the Future
A six-day active lesson plan designed for 10th grade US History curriculum. Developed by K.W. Semrad, a US History teacher in Cincinnati, Ohio.
Eleventh & Twelfth Grades and College Level -- Civil Rights
Discussion based lesson plans developed by Susan Williams, when she was a Graduate Student in the History Department at Miami University.

Curriculum Guides for Adults

College Level -- Student Activism in the 1960s and Today
An active learning social studies lesson developed by Dr. Alysia Fischer for university and college students.
Adult Level -- Freedom Summer Lesson Plan: Civil Rights
An active learning lesson developed for adults by Dr. Phil Cagwin.

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2024 4:17 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/FreedomSummer
Print Page