REL / WGS 333: Religion, Status, and Dress: Home
Brainstorming Search Terms
Most databases will search words in the:
- title of the article / book
- abstract
- subject terms
Brainstorm a list of possible terms before beginning your search; think about more specific or more general terms you can use if your initial search doesn't produce enough results. As you review your results, look at the subject headings used: are some of them helpful in describing, limiting, or broadening your content?
Here's an example of a set of search terms for various forms of womens' clothing associated with Islamic traditions:
- hijab
- niqab
- burqa
Search results from one of these terms yielded results with these subject terms:
- veil / full veil
- muslim womens' clothing
- clothing - religious aspects (this one can be broadened to include other religious traditions)
Identifying Articles
- ATLA Religion Database and ATLASerials, Religion Collection This link opens in a new windowATLASerials Oxford campus users only; ATLA Religion Database available to all users
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.... Coverage: 1972 -
- Gender Watch This link opens in a new windowWomen's and gender issues in popular publications. Coverage: 1970's -
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndex Islamicus Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, and includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also Muslim areas of Asia and Africa and Muslim minorities elsewhere.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues and topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. LGBT Life includes archival and current content in the area of LGBT studies and includes some full-text. Coverage: 1953-
Finding the Article / Book Once You've Identified It
Use the "Find It!" button When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
-
Requesting books and articles flowchartCan't decide which way you need to use to request something? Use this chart.
Citing Resources
- MLA Citation Guide (8th ed.): Columbia CollegeExamples of many, lesser-used formats, including interviews, religious texts, and social media.
