Author(s). Title of book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Title of the Database or Web site. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.
Example:
Cascardi, Anthony J. Ideologies of History in the Spanish Golden Age. University Park: Pennsylvania State UP, 1997. Penn State Romance Studies. Web. 12 Mar. 2007.
For eBooks and other documents used on an electronic device like a Kindle, Nook, or iPad, the medium of publication is the type of electronic file, such as Kindle file, Nook file, EPUB file, or PDF file. If you cannot identify the file type, use Digital file.
Author(s). Title of book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Medium of Publication.
Example:
Rowley, Hazel. Franklin and Eleanor: An Extraordinary Marriage. New York: Farrar, 2010. Kindle file.
MLA Handbook pg. 184-190, Section 5.6.2
If you are citing a journal that only appears online, without a print counterpart, that does not use page numbers, use the abbreviation 'n. pag.' to denote that there is no pagination for the publication.
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Year): pages. Medium of publication. Date of Access.
Example:
Landauer, Michelle. "Images of Virtue: Reading, Reformation and the Visualization of Culture in Rousseau's La nouvelle Heloise." Romanticism on the Net 46 (2007): n. pag. Web. 8 Nov. 2007.
MLA Handbook pg. 190-192, Section 5.6.3
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Year): pages. Title of the Database. Medium of publication. Date of Access.
Example:
Dobat, Andres Siegfried. "The King and His Cult: The Axe-hammer from Sutton Hoo and its Implications for the Concept of Sacral Leadership in Early Medieval Europe." Antiquity 80.310 (2006): 880-893. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 29 June 2011.
MLA Handbook pg. 192-193, Section 5.6.4
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical. Publisher, Date of Publication. Medium of publication. Date of Access.
Example:
Tyre, Peg. "Standardized Tests in College?" Newsweek. Newsweek, 16 Nov. 2007. Web. 15 May 2008.
MLA Handbook pg. 184-190, Section 5.6.2
Entire Web site:
The URL is generally not required unless the reader would have difficulty locating the resource without it. If included, the URL should be added at the end of the citation. If no publisher name is provided, use n.p. and use n.d. if no publishing date is provided.
Author, editor, or compiler name (if available). Name of Web Site. Version number. Name of institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher), date of resource creation (if available). Medium of publication. Date of access. <URL (if needed)>.
Example:
Eaves, Morris, Robert Essick, and Joseph Viscomi, eds. The William Blake Archive. Lib. of Cong., 28 Sept. 2007. Web. 20 Nov. 2007. <http://www.blakearchive.org/blake/>.
Author, editor, or compiler name (if available). "Title of page." Name of Web Site. Version number. Name of institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher), date of resource creation (if available). Medium of publication. Date of access. <URL (if needed)>.
MLA Handbook pg.181-184, Section 5.6.1
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper or Web site. Publisher, Date of Publication. Medium of publication. Date of Access.
Example:
"Global Warming and Your Wallet." New York Times. New York Times, 06 July 2007. Web. 30 June 2011.
or
Quade, Alex. "Elite Team Rescues Troops behind Enemy Lines." CNN.com. Cable News Network, 19 Mar. 2007. Web. 15 May 2008.
MLA Handbook pg. 184-190, Section 5.6.2
Begin the entry in the works-cited list with the author’s real name and, in parentheses, username, if both are known and they differ. If only the username is known, give it alone.
Author (Username). "Entire text of Tweet." Date and Time of Posted Message. Medium of publication.
Example:
Athar, Sohaib (ReallyVirtual). “Helicopter hovering above Abbottabad at 1AM (is a rare event).” 1 May 2011, 3:58 p.m. Tweet.
"Title of Entry." Title of Reference Source. Publisher, Year. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.
If print publication data is known, use the following format:
Author(s). "Title of Entry." Title of Reference Source. Ed. Editor's Name(s). Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Page range of entry. Web Site or Database. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.
Example:
"de Konning, Willem." Encyclopaedia Britannica Online. Encyclopaedia Britannica, 2008. Web. 15 May 2008.
or
Adams, William Y. "Navajo." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 1: North America. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 250-253. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 30 June 2011.
MLA Handbook pg. 184-190, Section 5.6.2
Government Agency. Title of Publication. By Author(s). Date of Publication. Web site. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.
or
Author(s). Title of Publication. Date of Publication. Web site. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.
Example:
United States. Dept. of Justice. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. Law Enforcement and Juvenile Crime. By Howard N. Snyder. 2001. National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Web. 15 May 2008.
MLA Handbook pg 184-190, Section 5.6.2
When a URL is needed, you may omit “http://” or “https://” within the citation.
A publisher’s name may be omitted for the following kinds of publications, either because the publisher need not be given or because there is no publisher.
In MLA style your bibliography should be called Works Cited.
A hanging indent should be used for each citation.
Within your Works Cited list, your references should be in alphabetical order based on the author's last name. If there is no author listed, use the title of the source.