Miami U, Oxford, and Local History: Indexes and Journals

Indexes to Periodicals

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index to popular magazines from 1890-1980's. After the 1980's use the print version in the reference index collection and Academic Search Complete.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of 1,500 American magazines from 1741 into the 20th century
The collection includes the first American magazines, early literary and cultural reviews, the first scholarly journals, and many popular magazines that continue to be published to this day, including Atlantic, Ladies'Home Journal, Vanity Fair, Puck, and Scientific American. This is a work-in-progress and is updated daily. For additional indexing use the 19th Century Index and Index to Early American Periodicals.

Wellesly Index to Periodicals
Index to articles on politics, religion, women's writings, ecnoomics, art science archaeology and philosphy published in the 19th century. Also available online through the database 19C and in print.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Primary source social science and Humanities scholarly journals since 1907 to 1984.
Combines the indexing of International Index (1907-1965), the Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-74), Humanities Index (1974-84), and Social Sciences Index (1974-84).

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts and full-text of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article. For additional help in searching use the link in AHL.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore the culture of food both contemporary and historical. Contents include: menus, cookbooks, marketing pamphlets, documentaries, vintage commercials, etc. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Sources include the National Archives (US) school lunch program files, WWII Food Campaign files, and Food Ephemera Collection (ephemeral materials from the turn of the century through the 1960s) and many published sources.

Subjects: American Studies, History