Miami U, Oxford, and Local History: Oxford and SW Ohio History

About Oxford and Miami University archival material

Generally Smith History Library, part of Lane Public Library, Oxford Branch, collection Oxford history and Miami University Archives collections University related material. However there are exceptions. See the bottom box for contact information of local and regional archives.

Published Histories

Butler County Newspapers

Oxford and Butler County has a long history of many newspapers. Below are links and lists of titles.. Most are located at Smith Library of Regional History in Lane Public Library.

Oxford Newspapers at Smith Library

Oxford Citizen (digitized)
Oxford Press 1932-2022 (coming soon)
Oxford Free Press 1934-1936 (coming soon)

Current Oxford Newspapers

Oxford Free Press (both print and online)
Oxford Observer.

And a large list of Butler County Newspapers, mostly on microfilm unless otherwise indicated. (Miami holdings are also indicated.)

Newspapers

Cincinnati Enquirer Historical (1841-2009) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images for the Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841-2009.
Cincinnati Newspaper Index (NEWSDEX) This link opens in a new window
Created and maintained by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County staff, this database indexes selected articles on local topics from area newspapers, currently including the Cincinnati Enquirer, the Cincinnati Post, the Cincinnati Herald, the Business Courier, Cincinnati Magazine, and the Downtowner.
Some topics can be traced back into the 19th century, although the years since 1990 are covered more fully. There is no full-text in the database.
Cincinnati Enquirer (2010-3 months ago) This link opens in a new window
Digital microfilm for 2010 through three months ago.

Hamilton Journal News
Hamilton Ohio. Older issues on microfilm. Current issues received in paper. See the reserve desk for current day's paper.
Oxford Press
Both Miami and Smith History library have microfilmed copies.

Photographs

Frank Snyder Photograph Collection

Websites, Databases and Collections

Black Mobility in Oxford, Ohio
Timeline of Black history in Oxford Ohio from the 1800's to present day including pictures and interactive maps.
Map of Graves at Woodside Cemetery
Basic information for burials in Woodside Cemetery, Oxfords historic Black cemetery.
Ohio Memory
Images and documents.

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment This link opens in a new window
Letters, diaries, memoirs, and other kinds of personal accounts of encounters between native cultures and colonizers in North and South America (although Canada and the United States dominate). Perspectives include traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Census and Misc

Historic American Building Survey
Includes: The Felix Fryman Farm House: the David M. Magie Farm House among others. Description of house and site.
Oxford Ohio City Directories
Held at Smith History Library
Family Search
Butler County Records Center
Aggregated Agricultural Census
Statistics by geographic location, not individual name.
Woodside Cemetery USCT
Project by Helen Shuemaker's classes providing biographical information about veterans buried in Woodside Cemetery

Find A Grave for Oxford Cemeteries (Find a Grave isn't complete)

Maps and Geography

County and Regional Histories and Atlases: Ohio This link opens in a new window
Ohio. 1857-1922. Local histories and atlases at the county level published during the last quarter of the 19th century to the early years of the 20th century. Included are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories and Atlases: Indiana This link opens in a new window
Indiana. 1857-1922. Local histories and atlases at the county level published during the last quarter of the 19th century to the early years of the 20th century. Included are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans.

1855 Map of Butler County, Ohio
County of Butler, Ohio: McBride's Map of 1836
Map for 1836
Plat Book Butler County Ohio 1925
Historical Butler County Atlases
Maps for years 1875, 1895, 1914, 1930
Hard Copy Maps
Smith History Library has many maps of Butler County and Oxford. Maps include Oxford town maps, county farm platt maps with owners names

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (OPLIN Interface) This link opens in a new window
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
These maps are used by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.

Key to Reading Sanborn Maps

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Using census data since 1790, create maps of anywhere in the US.
In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. This interactive website includes the entire US census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2012, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US), InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.

Oxford: A Changing City
Interactive contemporary map with historic points marked on an interactive map. With photos.
Educating from the Ground Up
History of the Magie Farm, outside of Oxford, as well as agriculture and architecture of a rural farm.
Oxford Historic Buildings Map
Map with links to information about historic buildings and their age and construction.

Environmental

Archived Weather Data
National Weather Service data since about 1996 for Cincinnati, Columbus and Datyon.
DATA & SERVICES: 19TH CENTURY WEATHER (FORTS)
19c weather data collect by military forts in the midwest US.

Local Archives Contacts (that may have information on Oxford and Miami)

Generally Smith Library of Regional History (part of Lane Public Library in Oxford) collects and preserves Oxford history,

For more information contact


Oxford Brad Spurlock Smith Library of Regional History 300 North Third Street Hamilton, Ohio 45011 b.spurlock@lanepl.org Phone: (513) 523-3035, ex. 1225	Hamilton (city) and Butler County Brad Spurlock Cummins History Room 300 North Third Street Hamilton, Ohio 45011 b.spurlock@lanepl.org Phone: (513) 523-3035, ex. 1225	Butler County Historical Society Butler County Historical Society 123 North Third Street Hamilton, OH 45011 ________________________ Butler County Archives Butler County Archives 123 North Third Street Hamilton, OH 45011
Cincinnati and Hamilton County Public Library Main Library 800 Vine St Cincinnati, OH 45202 Ask a Librarian Digital Library Special Collections Be sure to search the online catalog. The collections are old and not everything is in a special collection.	Cincinnati History Library and Archives Cincinnati History Library and Archives 1301 Western Avenue, Suite 2133 Cincinnati, Ohio 45203 Phone: 513-287-7030 library@cincymuseum.org	Dayton Metro Library Dayton History Room Jamie McQuinn history@DaytonMetroLibrary.org. 215 E. Third St. Dayton OH 45402 937.463.2665

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2024 4:11 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/Miami_Oxford
Print Page

Subjects: American Studies, History