Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering: MME 202 | Numerical Methods
Course Objectives and Schedule of Topics
The content and topics to be covered have been selected to give the student a classical background in computational tools and methods as applied to engineering. Specific goals of this course are:
- Utilize computational tools and methods for solving engineering design problems. Student should become more comfortable with the design process, see the chart of design elements at the end of syllabus.
- Enhance the understanding and application of computational methods as applied to engineering design and analysis.
MATLAB Help
Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists by
Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists, Sixth Edition, provides a concise, balanced overview of MATLAB's functionality that facilitates independent learning, with coverage of both the fundamentals and applications. The essentials of MATLAB are illustrated throughout, featuring complete coverage of the software's windows and menus. Program design and algorithm development are presented clearly and intuitively, along with many examples from a wide range of familiar scientific and engineering areas. This updated edition includes the latest MATLAB versions through 2016a, and is an ideal book for a first course on MATLAB, or for an engineering problem-solving course using MATLAB, as well as a self-learning tutorial for professionals and students expected to learn and apply MATLAB. Updated to include all the newer features through MATLAB R2016a Includes new chapter on complex variables analysis Presents a comparison of execution time between compiled and un-compiled code that includes examples Describes the new H2 graphics features
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780128052716Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Introduction to MATLAB for engineers and scientists: solutions for numerical computation and modeling by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1484231899Publication Date: 2017
Learning MATLAB by
This comprehensive and stimulating introduction to Matlab, a computer language now widely used for technical computing, is based on an introductory course held at Qian Weichang College, Shanghai University, in the fall of 2014. Teaching and learning a substantial programming language aren't always straightforward tasks. Accordingly, this textbook is not meant to cover the whole range of this high-performance technical programming environment, but to motivate first- and second-year undergraduate students in mathematics and computer science to learn Matlab by studying representative problems, developing algorithms and programming them in Matlab. While several topics are taken from the field of scientific computing, the main emphasis is on programming. A wealth of examples are completely discussed and solved, allowing students to learn Matlab by doing: by solving problems, comparing approaches and assessing the proposed solutions.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9783319253275Publication Date: 2015-11-21
- MATLAB Training | MathWorksFree and from MATLAB themselves, courses on: Getting Started, Core MATLAB, Data Science, Computational Mathematics, and more.
- Getting Started with MATLAB | MathWorksFree and from MATLAB themselves, tutorials on: Desktop Basics, Matricies & Arrays, Array Indexing, Workspace Variables, Text and Characters, Calling Functions, 2D & 3D Plots, Programming & Scripts, and Help & Documentation.
- Introduction Tutorial | Part 1 | MITGuide from MIT on: starting from the basics, dealing with matrices, useful functions, plotting, polynomials, logical conditions and matrices, and more.
- Introduction Tutorial | Part 2 | MITContinuation from MIT guide part 1. Includes tutorials on : writing MATLAB functions and scrips, global variables, loops, debugging, solving differential equations, and vectorization.
Numerical Methods
Numerical Methods Using MATLAB by
Numerical Methods using MATLAB, 3e, is an extensive reference offering hundreds of useful and important numerical algorithms that can be implemented into MATLAB for a graphical interpretation to help researchers analyze a particular outcome. Many worked examples are given together with exercises and solutions to illustrate how numerical methods can be used to study problems that have applications in the biosciences, chaos, optimization, engineering and science across the board. Over 500 numerical algorithms, their fundamental principles, and applications Graphs are used extensively to clarify the complexity of problems Includes coded genetic algorithms Includes the Lagrange multiplier method User-friendly and written in a conversational style
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 0123869889Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Numerical Methods in Computational Mechanics by
This book explores the numerical algorithms underpinning modern finite element based computational mechanics software. It covers all the major numerical methods that are used in computational mechanics. It reviews the basic concepts in linear algebra and advanced matrix theory, before covering solution of systems of equations, symmetric eigenvalue solution methods, and direct integration of discrete dynamic equations of motion, illustrated with numerical examples. This book suits a graduate course in mechanics based disciplines, and will help software developers in computational mechanics. Increased understanding of the underlying numerical methods will also help practicing engineers to use the computational mechanics software more effectively.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781498746786Publication Date: 2016-11-25
Numerical Methods and Modelling for Engineering by
This textbook provides a step-by-step approach to numerical methods in engineering modelling. The authors provide a consistent treatment of the topic, from the ground up, to reinforce for students that numerical methods are a set of mathematical modelling tools which allow engineers to represent real-world systems and compute features of these systems with a predictable error rate. Each method presented addresses a specific type of problem, namely root-finding, optimization, integral, derivative, initial value problem, or boundary value problem, and each one encompasses a set of algorithms to solve the problem given some information and to a known error bound. The authors demonstrate that after developing a proper model and understanding of the engineering situation they are working on, engineers can break down a model into a set of specific mathematical problems, and then implement the appropriate numerical methods to solve these problems.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9783319211763Publication Date: 2016-06-03
Librarian
Knovel
Great, versatile tool for engineering.
You can find material and property data, find and use engineering equations, and convert units of measure.
Also contains a library of engineering books.
- Knovel (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowKnovel, accessible on its own or within Engineering Village, delivers trusted, accessible, and relevant engineering answers and insights for industry and academia, accelerating the discovery process and connecting engineers wherever and whenever they are located, increasing their productivity without compromising operational excellence. Tools include, e-book library, material property search, equation solver, and unit converter. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.