Historical Abstracts (HA) indexes journal articles, dissertations, book reviews, and media reviews on world history (excluding the United States and Canada-see America: History and Life). HA covers history from 1450 C.E. to the present. This index also includes major European-language journals. Search HA by keyword and limit the search by the time period covered by the article.
Produced by the Islamic Bibliograhy Unit at Cambridge University Library, the Index Islamicus Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also Muslim areas of Asia and Africa and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Included in the index are journals, conference proceedings, and monographs.
Oxford campus users only. The Bibliography of Asian Studies contains over 640,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
It includes citations to Western-language books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and chapters in edited volumes. Older print volumes are located in SWORD. There is a five-year lag in the publication of this bibliography.
ATLASerials Oxford campus users only; ATLA Religion Database available to all users. A comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship.
It contains more than one million citations from 1,400+ international journal titles and 14,000 multi-author works and book reviews related to religious studies. The database also includes full-text access to more than 238,000 articles, book reviews and essays from major religion and theology journals.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 639,000 records and coverage spans from 1900 (and earlier) to the present. Over 15,000 records of recently published and grey literature are added annually. Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database, and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present).
Geobase provides comprehensive bibliographic references to important journals in the fields of physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. International in scope, Geobase provides coverage from over 1,800 primary journals, books, monographs, reports, and theses.
Geobase pulls together the information from seven abstracts journals - Geological Abstracts, Geomechanics Abstracts, Geographical Abstracts: Human Geography, Geographical Abstracts: Physical Geography, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts to enable comprehensive multidisciplinary searches of international literature.
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) Daily Reports are full-text, transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. Key historical events are accessible directly through predefined, hyperlinked collections.
The FBIS Daily Reports constitute a one-of-a-kind archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news from 157 different countries, with other countries to be added via content updates.
Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics all collide in its pages in an abundance of glorious narrative detail. World-famous for its cutting-edge investigative journalism, the U.K. newspaper broke many of the key stories of the twentieth century, including the thalidomide scandal in the 1960s, the exposure of Kim Philby as a Soviet double-agent, and the revelations about the Israeli nuclear program in 1986.
This full text database to the London times provides access to European and world (through the eyes of the colonizers) cultures and events. Keyword searching is available in both the full text of the articles as well as the citations and abstracts. Searching by type of article or for articles with images is also available.
The index to the paper after 1985 is available in the King Index area at the end of the reference section. Older indexes are available in King Circulation. Microfilm of the newspaper is available by request from the Instructional Materials Center.
Oxford campus users only. Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes 375 general-interest magazines and periodicals published in the United States. Although some scholarly publications are covered, the main focus of Readers' Guide is popular publications.
Russian Perspectives on Islam documents the encounter and evolving relationship between the Orthodox/secular state and the Islamic regions, groups, individuals, and ideologies on the territory of the former Soviet Union and neighboring countries. This set of unique materials illuminates the strategies implemented by the Soviet and Russian state to establish authority and legitimacy among predominantly Muslim populations in Central Asia, the Northern Caucasus and Siberia.
ICONS AND IMAGES OF CULTURES: PLATE BOOKS FROM THE RUSSIAN EMPIRE, EARLY SOVIET RUSSIA, AND EASTERN EUROPE, 1730-1935
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press.
Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily worker's newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. The Digital Archive includes full-text and full-image access of the publication from 1912 through the end of 2009.