America: History and Life (AHL) abstracts journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article. For additional help in searching use the link in AHL.
The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject and keyword index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988. For the years 1953-1990 see King Index Reference shelves.
An online collection of books about the Americas published 1500-1926 and covering history, social and political issues, science, religion, slavery, emigration, women, and many, many other subjects. Based on the Bibliotheca Americana compiled by Joseph Sabin (begun in 1868) and augmented by the work of others, this complements Early American Imprints (books printed in North America, EEBO and ECCO (books printed in England or English 1475-1800), and the American Periodical Series Online.
Database includes letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of encounters between native cultures and colonizers in North and South America (although Canada and the United States dominate). Aside from a keyword search, indexes include characteristics of authors, place, peoples, cultural and personal events, year, environment and images.
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries consists of diaries, letters, and memoirs by famous and unknown individuals from the North, South, and foreign countries. Aside from a keyword index, other indexes include characteristics of author, personal events, battles and date/day or month.
Unpublished and published sources of women's diaries and correspondence. They provide a detailed record of what women wore, the conditions under which they worked, what they ate, what they read, and how they amused themselves. One can see how frequently they attended church, how they viewed their connection to God, and how they prayed as well as explore their relationships with lovers and family and friends. Added indexes include places, personal events, and author characteristics.
Published Primary Sources: Newspapers and Magazines
Full text of the complete run of New York Times from 1851 to three years ago, with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrations in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles.
Full text image and indexing of the Chicago Tribune from its beginning in 1849 until 1994. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
Full text image and indexing of the Washington Post from its beginning in 1877 through 17 years ago. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.
This growing collection of fully searchable historical American newspapers is the most extensive resource of its kind. With nearly 1,500 titles from all 50 states, Early American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of the topics, people, issues and events that have shaped America for nearly three centuries.
Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes 375 general-interest magazines and periodicals published in the United States. Although some scholarly publications are covered, the main focus of Readers' Guide is popular publications.
The Archives provides the full text of primary historical resources from the 18th and 19th century, including Godey's Ladys Book and the Pennsylvania Gazette. The Archives contains databases of major Civil war articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer. It also has a database of selected 19th Century African-American papers, including Freedoms Journal, The Colored American, The North Star the Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-59), and others. The Archives is searchable by keyword. It also includes Study Guides that will direct users to relevant resources on general subjects such as Crime and Punishment and Black History and prominent individuals such as George Washington and Abraham Lincoln.
Harpweek contains the full text of Harpers Weekly, an important magazine that reflects 19th century American culture. This index includes every word of the text, all advertisements, as well as four separate subject indexes (subject, illustrations, literature and publishing, and advertising). Harpweek can also be browsed by date.
American Periodical Series Online is a full-text collection of 1,500 American magazines published from 1741 into the 20th century. The database provides PDFs of page images and single articles. It can be browsed by title, editor, or publisher, and searched using a sophisticated search menu. The collection includes the first American magazines, early literary and cultural reviews, the first scholarly journals, and many popular magazines that continue to be published to this day, including Atlantic, Ladies'Home Journal, Vanity Fair, Puck, and Scientific American. This is a work-in-progress and is updated daily. For additional indexing use the 19th Century Index and Index to Early American Periodicals.
The Nation is an important clearinghouse of primary source material in America and around the world. The Nation Digital Archive makes it possible for researchers to access 14 decades of America's best alternative journalism in ways never before possible. The archive includes perspectives on news, politics, and culture from writers, artists, novelists, and playwrights.
The New Republic, founded in 1914, is one of the country's leading journals of opinion on politics and the arts. The database features award-winning writers and critics from many fields and from most political viewpoints.
ProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. It indexes Congressional publications from 1789 to the present and provides access to CIS Legislative Histories for public laws (1970-). Full text is available for many publications including testimony from congressional hearings (1824-Present); committee reports (1817-Present); bill texts and status (1989-); Statutes at Large/U.S. Code (1789-); Congressional Serial Set (1789-2003); Federal Register (1980-); and the Congressional Record, including the Annals of Congress (1789-1997). It also provides information about members and committees.
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, the home front, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience and bear witness to the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America. The database currently holds over 10,400 images. Over 8,400 of these images come from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
With its first appearance on American motion picture screens in February 1935, The March of Time startled journalists, filmmakers, and audiences alike with its controversial topics and unique approach to newsreels. The "issues", as the newsreels were called, were a blend of confrontational journalism and docudrama, often using actors to stage events that had not been photographed on newsreel cameras. The series began with brief segments in the 1930s and eventually grew in length and scope to television programs of in-depth coverage of a single topic. Though extremely popular worldwide, the series eventually ceded viewers to the popularity of television programming, ending movie theatre presentations in 1951 and airing its last television segment in 1967.
Collected from governmental and non-governmental resources, this collection of data (also available in print) provides statistics on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, trade and more.The online version allows for customization of data into tables.