WorldCat is the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic database for books, journal titles, media, manuscripts and other materials held in libraries. Created by OCLC member libraries, WorldCat is the first place to look for bibliographic verification of any title ever published. However, if you want to limit your search to items held by Miami University Libraries, use the MUL catalog. Materials not owned by Miami or by an OhioLINK library must be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Articles: Journal Indexes
The sources below will lead you to secondary source scholarly journals.
Abstracts journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history. Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals.
Our broadest index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ASC provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full text for more than 5,300 of these.
Offers deep coverage in environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Primary coverage is from 1975-present, with limited coverage from 1960.
Note: This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
Geobase provides comprehensive bibliographic references to important journals in the fields of physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. International in scope, Geobase provides coverage from over 1,800 primary journals, books, monographs, reports, and theses.
Geobase pulls together the information from seven abstracts journals - Geological Abstracts, Geomechanics Abstracts, Geographical Abstracts: Human Geography, Geographical Abstracts: Physical Geography, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts to enable comprehensive multidisciplinary searches of international literature.
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Includes Biological Abstracts coverage plus Reports, Reviews & Meetings.
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Political Science Complete contains full text for more than 550 journals, along with indexing and abstracting for over 2,900 journals, including top-ranked scholarly journals. PSC also provides over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
PSC provides a subject-specific thesaurus with over 17,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers. Subjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
PolicyFile provides online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Offering access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.