Skip to main content

Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: WMS309/GEO309 Ornelas

Background Information

Specialized or subject encyclopedias help you to explore the issues of your topic and often identity the key terms and researchers associated with that topic.

  • Native America in the Twentieth Century  King Ref E 76.2 .N36 1994
  • Native North American Almanac King Ref E 75 .N38 1994
  • Native Americans: A Guide  King Ref E 93 .N32 2002
  • Native American Rights (Current Controversies) King Ref E 93 .N288 1998
  • Atlas of the North American Indian  King Ref E 77 W195 2000
  • Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary King Ref E98.W8 B38 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America King Ref BL458 .E52 2006

 

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection.  An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item.  You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.

Find It! Button

Article Indexes

LexisNexis Congressional

LexisNexis Congressional offers access to substantial collections of information by and about the United States Congress.  These collections are interlinked, allowing for in-depth exploration of legislative debates, reports, progress though committees, and congressional discussions about issues that defined the day, throughout American history. For more in-depth information on searching for Congressional publications see the Government and Law Guide.

The following collections are accessible through Miami University's LexisNexis Congressional access: 

Congressional Hearings (more info)

Serial Set (more info)

Serial Set Maps (more info)

House and Senate Reports (more info):  1819 - Present

House and Senate Documents (more info):  1819 - Present

Committee Prints & miscellaneous publications (more info): 1830 - Present

Legislative Histories (more info):  1969 - Present

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (more info):  1916 - 2003

Subject Guide

Jenny Presnell's picture
Jenny Presnell
Contact:
204 King Library

(513) 529-3937
presnejl@miamioh.edu
History, Political Science, American Studies, Government Documents and Law, and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies.

Office Hours
Mondays 1:30-3:00 Harrison 114
Tuesdays 1:30-3:00 Upham Hall, History Department Office

Info about journals

"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?"  Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory logo

Tips:

  1. Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
  2. Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
  3. Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")