Skip to main content

Chemistry and Biochemistry: Articles

SciFinder

SciFinder is the most important literature database in chemistry.  (It is also one of the most powerful databases out there in any discipline!)

You can search SciFinder in several ways:

  • Explore References - Let's you search on a topic, author, journal, etc.
  • Explore Substances - This lets you search by structure, molecular formula, or Substance Identifier.
  • Explore Reactions - Similar to Explore Substances, this section allows you to search for a reaction.

Other databases

Sometimes SciFinder is not the best database to use.  We subscribe to many other databases that might be better for your research.  Give some of these a try.

Chemistry Education

For Chemistry Education research, you might want to search in education databases too.  Try these ones out...

Why would I want an article?

Primary article:

A primary article will report the findings from researchers.  The experiments they conduct will be reported in this type of article.  You can find things like syntheses of specific molecules, properties of nanomolecules, and reaction mechanisms.

Review article:

This type of article will summarize the research that has been done in a certain area of chemistry or biochemistry.  Review articles are an excellent starting point if you're just beginning to study a specific subject area.

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

Most databases do not have the actual journal articles housed on them, some databases, like Academic Search Complete will have some of them.  Instead, they usually just contain information about the article.  Some databases will allow you to search full-text only, but beware that you are not searching all the articles that we subscribe to.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item.  You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.  SciFinder does not use this icon, instead click on the button for get full-text.

Find it button

Your Librarian

Kevin Messner's picture
Kevin Messner
Contact:
Business, Engineering, Science, and Technology Library
219B Laws Hall
(513) 529-7204
krmessner@miamioh.edu